Spicy Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe is essentially a reworked version of a Thai classic, 'Green Mango Salad'. If you replace the mangoes in this recipe with green (unripened mangoes), the flavor is more intense, and texturally superior. Replace the 4 mangoes with green mangoes (peeled, separated from pith, and cut into matchsticks - not chunks). Using essentially the same ingredients, except nix the olive oil (totally unnecessary fats), add 2-3 tablespoons (varies with size of mangoes) fish sauce and 1 tablespoon sugar PER mango used, when dressing with lime, cilantro, etc. Replace shallots with red onions for a milder flavor. Allow to marinate some 10-15 minutes and top with chopped toasted peanuts or cashews before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I used thinly sliced red onion instead of shallots. Instead of red pepper flakes, I used thin slivers of sweet red peppers. The tastes complemented one another beautifully and it was a very pretty salad also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
WOW, I LOVE THIS!!! We normally stay away from recipes with no reviews, but took a chance. I only gave it 5 stars because there is not a 50 star button.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was an interesting compliment to BBQ meat. Found the pepper flakes to be a bit strong, so I suggest using less. A good sweet mango is a stand alone flavor, & I felt the spices masked its sweetness and didn't really enhance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was great!! I served it at a bar-b-que. A wonderful summer sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is really good and really refreshing. I'd say don't use over ripe mangoes or it will get soupy. ALSO- a really nice variation to try: replace Cilantro with Basil if you like basil more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have made this twice & we love it; however, the 1T red pepper flakes is unbelievable. I sifted it with a strainer to keep the seeds out & used only a tiny amount of red pepper, but it was still overpowering. Next time I will try Peggy's suggestion to use red onion & red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This recipe is superb! I made it as a side dish with a grilled ginger chicken and it was great. I might try it with fish next time. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
A tad too spicy for me, but overall very summery and interesting. Will probably make again with half the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is similar to a mango 'salsa' I make - using the Thai sweet chili sauce (sweet & spicy) instead of the red pepper flakes. Great served with tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States