Spicy Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this, tonight, with what I had on hand. I didn't have enough mango, so I used equal parts of mango, fresh pineapple and avocado and left the dressing ingredients intact. There was enough fruit for 4 servings, so I cut down on the dressing accordingly. The cilantro and green onions I eyeballed. And just threw in enough red pepper flakes to complement and color without overpowering. Maybe 1 tsp. Fabulous! My husband doesn't like mango, but told me to write this one down; it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is oddly wonderful. The olive oil is sooo not necessary; and any more liquid would be a bad thing. Also, I used only about half a Tablespoon red pepper flakes and I'm glad I held back - it still had a real kick to it! The mangos are best if they're just ripe and still somewhat hard (of course, it's hard to tell where they are exactly in the ripening process); with very soft mango, the dish gets a little mushy and unattractive. But use a slotted spoon to serve and you're fine - even with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is excellent!!! I didn't have shallots on hand so used red onion too. Want to go with shallots next time. This is a keeper in my box! Thanks for a great recipe. Oh! It goes great with curry chicken skewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We had this last night with our dinner and really enjoyed it. Nice flavours, a bit of bite, simple to put together. We'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Wonderful salad! Very refreshing, not too overpowering with the red pepper flakes, and the lime juice really goes well with the mango. I didn't realize I liked mango so much until this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
A real hit with guests and very easy to make. Goes well with all Asian main dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe is essentially a reworked version of a Thai classic, 'Green Mango Salad'. If you replace the mangoes in this recipe with green (unripened mangoes), the flavor is more intense, and texturally superior. Replace the 4 mangoes with green mangoes (peeled, separated from pith, and cut into matchsticks - not chunks). Using essentially the same ingredients, except nix the olive oil (totally unnecessary fats), add 2-3 tablespoons (varies with size of mangoes) fish sauce and 1 tablespoon sugar PER mango used, when dressing with lime, cilantro, etc. Replace shallots with red onions for a milder flavor. Allow to marinate some 10-15 minutes and top with chopped toasted peanuts or cashews before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
it is terrible. the olive oil with the mango is not a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Took this to a wine tasting and it made a huge hit. It's so easy. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCY P

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I was searching for side dishes to accompany last night's dinner of General Tao Tofu and rice. This salad was exactly what my meal needed. I did cut down on the pepper flakes, but only because I wanted a less spicy side dish to cool the heat of my main dish. This was so simple, yet sooooo good! I do love the combination of sweet, salty, tart and spicy all together, which this recipe definitely has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States