Spicy Mango Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Have made this several times & really easy to make. We like spicy, but are still trying to find the right amount of red pepper flakes for us. We're down to trying 1/4 tsp for a serving of 3. Love those mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
In my country (Jamaica) this is called pepperpot. But here's how we do it: almost ripe mangoes, salt to taste, scotch bonnet (or any other HOT pepper), vinegar (optional). We don't even chill it. As a child I used to just sit under the mango tree with my bowl of "turn" mangoes, knife, salt, and pepper. AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Hubby loved it. I thought it was too hot and the mango was a pain in the butt to prepare. Next time I'll cut back some on the heat and I'll buy already prepared mango. This really tried my patience making it. Again 4 stars because hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is quite good, but unless you have a palette for VERY spicy foods, I would cut the pepper flakes WAY back! Also, if you are trying to save on calories, you can omit the oil or reduce it significantly, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe. To add a bit more substance to this, I added crushed cashews and broccoli slaw. Watch the red pepper, if you don't like heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was excellent! I omitted the ovoo and added red bell pepper cut into match sticks.I served tnis with a tuna ceviche and plantain chips. Was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This mango salad recipe is absolutely amazing and delicious. It is really easy to put together, but the flavors are complex and have such great variety. This is going to be a recipe that we make many times over in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I make this recipe just like the directions call for it, and it is always a crowd-pleaser. It's mangpo season right now in Florida, so it's an inexpensive salad to pair with Pancit or Shrimp Quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
A tad too spicy for me, but overall very summery and interesting. Will probably make again with half the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I slice mango into strips and I slice a red pepper too in strips along with red onion....delicious. I also will use an asian type dressing and chopped peanuts to garnish with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States