Spicy Lime Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is a very good basic recipe, but you can't have shrimp without garlic! Saute 3-4 minced cloves in a little butter, cool, then add to the marinade - makes a world of difference. Also sub olive oil for the vegetable oil, and add a little garlic powder. Note that if you use the full 3 tablespoons of Emeril's Essence, it WILL be hot! 1 tablespoon for the faint-hearted gives it excellent flavor, and just a good bite, but doesn't "burn" your mouth. If you really want to get creative, you can add spices such as marjoram and basil, but you will have to increase your marinating time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i thought they were pretty good (4 stars) but considering the reaction of my guests, i decided to go with 5 stars. they were gone in minutes, family said it was the best shrimp recipe ever. its so easy too! when i did it a second time, i used some chili powder as well and liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa demayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made this for a BBQ and it didn't last long! So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This tasted good but was VERY salty. I cut the Cajun seasoning in third based on other reviewers indicating that it was too salty. I used Tony Cachere's Cajun seasoning which I believe is the culprit here. I bet this recipe would be very good with a different Cajun seasoning. I will try it again with a different brand. I added two cloves of finely minced garlic to this which definitely gave it a very nice flavor. Overall, a very nice recipe - just use a different Cajun seasoning than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Good! I did cut the Cajun seasoning in half, as I'm a bit of a wimp. Quick and tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Way too spicy, and I like hot food. Cut the Cajun seasoning in half (1.5 tbsp.)and it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Way, WAY too much cajun seasoning! So, if you cut that into thirds you should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Great flavor!! I marinaded for about 6 hours and threw them in a grill wok (meant for vegetables on the grill) and tossed them for about 6 minutes. Turned out great!! Will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I used Creole seasoning, instead of Cajun. I also added fresh garlic to the marinade. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
also recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States