Spicy Lentil Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I can't believe how filling this dinner is. It was so darn good... Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Definitely a great recipe, economical, nutritious, and tasty. I even use the "meat" for regular tacos and my kids eat them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taradowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Amazing Amazing Amazing! We added sour cream and a homemade salsa. Delicious. I crave them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was really good! We had used a bunch of chicken broth in other recipes this past week, so I was getting sick of it and used water instead. Just make sure you add quite a bit of salt and pepper to taste or it will be bland. Instead of black beans I used a can of tri-bean blend that had black, kidney and pinto beans. We didn't add the salsa and cheese this time but I'm sure it would have been delicious! I added frozen corn and the bean blend to the pot with lentils and cooked an additional 10 minutes. We dipped corn tortilla chips into it and everyone gave it great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
awesome! we added chicken and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Pretty tasty recipe. I didn't have coconut oil (kinda expensive) so I used a little veggie oil instead. I also used two cans of vegetable broth, as that's what was already in my cupboard. I covered it for 20 min. and then took the lid off the last 10 minutes. The lentils were nice and soft and had just the perfect amount of slight liquid. I added a can of diced chiles to the beans and corn. I think next time I'll definitely throw a little avocado on top. This was a really great meat alternative meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These nachos were great! I made them low cal and vegan with baked chips and Daiya non-dairy cheese. These are definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was OKAY... Definitely not spicy in any capacity, EVOO works fine in place of coconut oil if you're not looking to spend the extra money. I recommend adding a can of diced chilies if you want some warmth to the dish, you absolutely need to double the liquid to soften the lentils, I just eye balled it after my broth was absorbed 15 minutes into the simmer. I also recommend topping with a little dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corunna, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious! I only threw the lentil mixture and cheese on the chips and it was really good. Husband loved them and has already asked for them again. I'm sure the rest of the ingredients make them even better, but not even necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States