Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was great and spicy but i substituted the cumin seed with sesame seeds and cumin powder and vegetable oil with 1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil. I like how the lentil taste with the spice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
yum! this was so delicious & healthy. very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2000
I really enjoyed this recipe -- so did my bridge group. We were all getting tired of the same-old, same-old...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This is an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A healty recipe with a great flavour, and a bit of spice. The lentils may need a shorter or longer cooking time depending on the brand used, and draining and reserving the liquid probably isn't a bad idea either. This smelled so good while I was making it that we started into it before our guests even arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is DELICIOSO! and super easy and super cheap to make. i am pretty sure i added too many spices bc i was drunk when i made this but it was still eaten up and also this is very healthy. i will def make this again soon! maybe even now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe turned out very well. It is a little spicy for me so next time I will cut down on the cayenne but that is a preference thing. I had no trouble with having too much liquid as some reviewers did. In fact after cooking the lentils I had to add more water to smooth out the dip to a lighter consistency..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Noni!!!I was looking for a recipe just like this one, and am I ever glad I found it!I used Umbrian brown lentils and olive oil,and, in addition to your recipe,added: 1 tsp toasted coriander seeds,half a cube veggie bouillion,Hungarian hot paprika,and cooked the lentils with a bay leaf.I used lots of the cooking stock to thin the spread, as it was plenty thick. Unbelievably good, I had it with my lentil soup and homemade buckewheat sourdough bread...sneaking back to get more sourdough and dip!!!It makes a fantastic sandwich filling! I will be making this as a staple in my fridge from this moment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States