Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I already had a batch of cooked lentils so I sauted the spices with the onion, added some of the lentil cooking liquid and then threw it all in the food processor. I had to add 1/2 tsp of salt then it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this for my book club tonight and everyone really liked it. Like many reviewers, I also added salt. I did not have a problem with it being too soupy and was going to reserve the water but didn't need to. The only thing I added that I didn't see anyone else use, was a dash of ground ginger, which went very nicely with this. I am definitely going to make this healthy dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! The water amount was perfect for me, but I did use a fairly large pot to boil it in which helped the evaporation. I ran out of curry powder, so I used garam masala and paprika instead. I used olive oil and added a little bit of salt. Next time I'll try it as written with curry powder (although the substitution was tasty!)and I may add some chopped, fresh tomato. This dip is fantastic on celery and carrot sticks and any kind of bread product!! What a healthy snack! I'm almost through my first batch and will probably make more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Noni!!!I was looking for a recipe just like this one, and am I ever glad I found it!I used Umbrian brown lentils and olive oil,and, in addition to your recipe,added: 1 tsp toasted coriander seeds,half a cube veggie bouillion,Hungarian hot paprika,and cooked the lentils with a bay leaf.I used lots of the cooking stock to thin the spread, as it was plenty thick. Unbelievably good, I had it with my lentil soup and homemade buckewheat sourdough bread...sneaking back to get more sourdough and dip!!!It makes a fantastic sandwich filling! I will be making this as a staple in my fridge from this moment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe turned out very well. It is a little spicy for me so next time I will cut down on the cayenne but that is a preference thing. I had no trouble with having too much liquid as some reviewers did. In fact after cooking the lentils I had to add more water to smooth out the dip to a lighter consistency..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
this was pretty good -- i agree with those who said it's a good base recipe to play with and make your own, and that it tastes better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Yum! I used tinned brown lentils and skipped the onion and water step. Didn't use oil and came up with a lovely thick consistency. Also added frozen peas after i blitzed it and a squeeze of lemon juice. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is pretty good. I used canned lentils (brown) and did not have any cayenne. I also added a bit more curry and garlic. Tastes better cold. Healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is DELICIOSO! and super easy and super cheap to make. i am pretty sure i added too many spices bc i was drunk when i made this but it was still eaten up and also this is very healthy. i will def make this again soon! maybe even now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was great and spicy but i substituted the cumin seed with sesame seeds and cumin powder and vegetable oil with 1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil. I like how the lentil taste with the spice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States