Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I already had a batch of cooked lentils so I sauted the spices with the onion, added some of the lentil cooking liquid and then threw it all in the food processor. I had to add 1/2 tsp of salt then it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this for my book club tonight and everyone really liked it. Like many reviewers, I also added salt. I did not have a problem with it being too soupy and was going to reserve the water but didn't need to. The only thing I added that I didn't see anyone else use, was a dash of ground ginger, which went very nicely with this. I am definitely going to make this healthy dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! The water amount was perfect for me, but I did use a fairly large pot to boil it in which helped the evaporation. I ran out of curry powder, so I used garam masala and paprika instead. I used olive oil and added a little bit of salt. Next time I'll try it as written with curry powder (although the substitution was tasty!)and I may add some chopped, fresh tomato. This dip is fantastic on celery and carrot sticks and any kind of bread product!! What a healthy snack! I'm almost through my first batch and will probably make more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Noni!!!I was looking for a recipe just like this one, and am I ever glad I found it!I used Umbrian brown lentils and olive oil,and, in addition to your recipe,added: 1 tsp toasted coriander seeds,half a cube veggie bouillion,Hungarian hot paprika,and cooked the lentils with a bay leaf.I used lots of the cooking stock to thin the spread, as it was plenty thick. Unbelievably good, I had it with my lentil soup and homemade buckewheat sourdough bread...sneaking back to get more sourdough and dip!!!It makes a fantastic sandwich filling! I will be making this as a staple in my fridge from this moment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe turned out very well. It is a little spicy for me so next time I will cut down on the cayenne but that is a preference thing. I had no trouble with having too much liquid as some reviewers did. In fact after cooking the lentils I had to add more water to smooth out the dip to a lighter consistency..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
this was pretty good -- i agree with those who said it's a good base recipe to play with and make your own, and that it tastes better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Yum! I used tinned brown lentils and skipped the onion and water step. Didn't use oil and came up with a lovely thick consistency. Also added frozen peas after i blitzed it and a squeeze of lemon juice. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is pretty good. I used canned lentils (brown) and did not have any cayenne. I also added a bit more curry and garlic. Tastes better cold. Healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is DELICIOSO! and super easy and super cheap to make. i am pretty sure i added too many spices bc i was drunk when i made this but it was still eaten up and also this is very healthy. i will def make this again soon! maybe even now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was great and spicy but i substituted the cumin seed with sesame seeds and cumin powder and vegetable oil with 1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil. I like how the lentil taste with the spice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States