Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
yum! this was so delicious & healthy. very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2000
I really enjoyed this recipe -- so did my bridge group. We were all getting tired of the same-old, same-old...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This is an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A healty recipe with a great flavour, and a bit of spice. The lentils may need a shorter or longer cooking time depending on the brand used, and draining and reserving the liquid probably isn't a bad idea either. This smelled so good while I was making it that we started into it before our guests even arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
It was great and spicy but i substituted the cumin seed with sesame seeds and cumin powder and vegetable oil with 1 1/2 teaspoon olive oil. I like how the lentil taste with the spice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is DELICIOSO! and super easy and super cheap to make. i am pretty sure i added too many spices bc i was drunk when i made this but it was still eaten up and also this is very healthy. i will def make this again soon! maybe even now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe turned out very well. It is a little spicy for me so next time I will cut down on the cayenne but that is a preference thing. I had no trouble with having too much liquid as some reviewers did. In fact after cooking the lentils I had to add more water to smooth out the dip to a lighter consistency..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Noni!!!I was looking for a recipe just like this one, and am I ever glad I found it!I used Umbrian brown lentils and olive oil,and, in addition to your recipe,added: 1 tsp toasted coriander seeds,half a cube veggie bouillion,Hungarian hot paprika,and cooked the lentils with a bay leaf.I used lots of the cooking stock to thin the spread, as it was plenty thick. Unbelievably good, I had it with my lentil soup and homemade buckewheat sourdough bread...sneaking back to get more sourdough and dip!!!It makes a fantastic sandwich filling! I will be making this as a staple in my fridge from this moment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States