Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe was ok for me, although I altered it a little. I had had a leftover lentil salad that didn't go over real well with my boyfriend, so this was a great way to do something with the leftovers (plus it took less than 10 minutes to make). The mixture was a little thick for my blender, so I dribbled in some chicken stock to thin it out a little. I also added more cumin than the recipe called for because I love cumin so much, and I added a bit more garlic. My girlfriends loved it and so did I. I also got rid of the leftover lentil salad without having to throw it out and waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This dip is delicious. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only using olive oil instead of vegetable and making a crushed red chili pepper/paprika substitution for the cayenne pepper, as I didn't have any. I did not add salt (nor would I say it needs any) and used all the liquid. I tried the dip after mixing it all together and felt it wasn't quite what I wanted. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and that did it for me. Who needs chips? I could eat this with a spoon! Four stars for the dip before the lemon juice, five for easy prep and with the difference the lemon juice made. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was only ok. Luckily I made a small batch because my husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I liked this a lot, although my husband didn't seem too keen on it. You will probably want to add salt. I added at least 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I'm a fan of Indian food, so I tried this recipe. Wow, what a disappointment. It was terrible! The taste was really yucky -- just tastes like very plain lentils with a tingle from the spices. I stirred in some salt to help it out, but it didn't help much. The appearance of the dip is completely unappetizing. It's a kind of yellowish, greenish goop. I made it for a potluck and it was virtually untouched. I sure won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I already had a batch of cooked lentils so I sauted the spices with the onion, added some of the lentil cooking liquid and then threw it all in the food processor. I had to add 1/2 tsp of salt then it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good, like a Mediterranean guacamole! I had 2 cups of steamed lentils already on hand, so my preparation varied from the recipe. Like another reviewer, I sautéed a chopped onion for 5 minutes in veg. oil, added the spices and cooked for another 2 minutes, then added 4 cloves of minced garlic for the final minute. Cut back a bit on the cayenne and added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1.5 tsp ground coriander and a dash of ground ginger in the spice mixture. Combined everything in a blender and added chicken broth... you may want 1 to 1.5 cups depending on the consistency you're after. Let it chill and the spices soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is turned out pretty well, ONLY after I altered it. I followed all of the measurements and cooking instructions exactly, but I was left with really bland tasting goop. So, I added: just under 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice, a bunch of sea salt, and another 1 tsp of curry. Now it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States