Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe was ok for me, although I altered it a little. I had had a leftover lentil salad that didn't go over real well with my boyfriend, so this was a great way to do something with the leftovers (plus it took less than 10 minutes to make). The mixture was a little thick for my blender, so I dribbled in some chicken stock to thin it out a little. I also added more cumin than the recipe called for because I love cumin so much, and I added a bit more garlic. My girlfriends loved it and so did I. I also got rid of the leftover lentil salad without having to throw it out and waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This dip is delicious. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only using olive oil instead of vegetable and making a crushed red chili pepper/paprika substitution for the cayenne pepper, as I didn't have any. I did not add salt (nor would I say it needs any) and used all the liquid. I tried the dip after mixing it all together and felt it wasn't quite what I wanted. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and that did it for me. Who needs chips? I could eat this with a spoon! Four stars for the dip before the lemon juice, five for easy prep and with the difference the lemon juice made. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was only ok. Luckily I made a small batch because my husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I liked this a lot, although my husband didn't seem too keen on it. You will probably want to add salt. I added at least 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I'm a fan of Indian food, so I tried this recipe. Wow, what a disappointment. It was terrible! The taste was really yucky -- just tastes like very plain lentils with a tingle from the spices. I stirred in some salt to help it out, but it didn't help much. The appearance of the dip is completely unappetizing. It's a kind of yellowish, greenish goop. I made it for a potluck and it was virtually untouched. I sure won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I already had a batch of cooked lentils so I sauted the spices with the onion, added some of the lentil cooking liquid and then threw it all in the food processor. I had to add 1/2 tsp of salt then it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good, like a Mediterranean guacamole! I had 2 cups of steamed lentils already on hand, so my preparation varied from the recipe. Like another reviewer, I sautéed a chopped onion for 5 minutes in veg. oil, added the spices and cooked for another 2 minutes, then added 4 cloves of minced garlic for the final minute. Cut back a bit on the cayenne and added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1.5 tsp ground coriander and a dash of ground ginger in the spice mixture. Combined everything in a blender and added chicken broth... you may want 1 to 1.5 cups depending on the consistency you're after. Let it chill and the spices soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is turned out pretty well, ONLY after I altered it. I followed all of the measurements and cooking instructions exactly, but I was left with really bland tasting goop. So, I added: just under 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice, a bunch of sea salt, and another 1 tsp of curry. Now it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States