Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
i made this dip using low fat spray oil,it turned out really nice,i love it! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
We liked this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of ground coriander, which added to the flavor a little. I recommend draining the lentils a little before blending to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A healty recipe with a great flavour, and a bit of spice. The lentils may need a shorter or longer cooking time depending on the brand used, and draining and reserving the liquid probably isn't a bad idea either. This smelled so good while I was making it that we started into it before our guests even arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is a keeper! I added a bouillon cube to the water when cooking the lentils and did not bother to mash them since they had already cooked down quite a bit. It did need a bit of salt, but it is good. Maybe not as a dip, but I enjoy it as a light and easy meal with some bread (or just a spoon!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe, and found it to be quite okay. I say this because I tried to do it in a rush, almost doubling the recipe, and eyeballing most of the measurments. All things considered, it was good! Next time, I'll be more careful in my measurements! My suggestions: Drain the water and hold it in reserve, that way you don't end up with spicy lentil soup - especially if you use canned lentils. I was going to give it 3 stars, but I'm going with 4, because I think it's growing on me! Well done, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Dog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I liked this a lot, although my husband didn't seem too keen on it. You will probably want to add salt. I added at least 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe was ok for me, although I altered it a little. I had had a leftover lentil salad that didn't go over real well with my boyfriend, so this was a great way to do something with the leftovers (plus it took less than 10 minutes to make). The mixture was a little thick for my blender, so I dribbled in some chicken stock to thin it out a little. I also added more cumin than the recipe called for because I love cumin so much, and I added a bit more garlic. My girlfriends loved it and so did I. I also got rid of the leftover lentil salad without having to throw it out and waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This dish never found it's way to the table but promptly to the trash can! I gave myself a birthday party where I featured all international cuisine. I got some great recipes from you guys...lucky for me I had a pretty big selection of food. At first I thought it was me, but I had a few friends taste it,...they didn't even SWALLOW! ...Sorry, Noni....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States