Spicy Layered Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This bean dip will turn out runny and soupy if you don't make changes to it. I've made it about four or five times now for parties and the last time I made it, it came out great. I only made a few changes, mainly just in the way it's preped. STRAIN THE SALSA AND JALAPENOS. Canned and jarred salsa and jalapenos have a lot of water in them. I found that by taking some cheesecloth and a strainer and geting the majority of water out of the salsa before putting it in really helped. I also strained the jalapenos, maybe I was supposed to be doing this all along, but the first few times I didn't and the dip was soupy. (I was using canned jalapenos) Even if you use chunky salsa it's still runny. For awhile I thought the runnyness was from the melted sour cream, but it's not. It's the salsa. So strain the salsa before adding it if you're going to use something store bought. Also this dip is really good if you get it all layered, and then put it in the fridge overnight until you need it. I usually make it the night before a party and cook it the day of the party, right before I leave the house. Just add about 15 minutes to the cook time if it's been in the refrigerator all night. Also I haven't tried it, but I'm sure this dip would be good cold too. As in not cooked at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Great recipe, everyone loved it. I used diced green chilies instead of the jalapenos and didn't add the whole 4 oz as I don't like things too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I just made this dip and it came out great! I had just made a batch of refried beans without the refry (found on this website also!) and black beans. I was looking for a bean dip and decided to try this. I added some taco seasoning to the bean portion, and I didn't drain the salsa and mine didn't come out runny. This will be a family favorite since I am always making pinto and black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great dip! I drained the salsa and jalapeno peppers as others suggested. I added half a packet of taco seasoning to the bean mixture. Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made it last night for a party. Got great reviews. Changes: made my own salsa/jalopenos (1 med diced red tomato, 3/4 cup finely diced onion, 1/2 cup cilantro, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1/2 lime-juice, salt/pepper, 2 finely diced fresh jalopeno peppers-seeded, mix, drain juice bf putting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara&Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This bean dip works as a great base, but ultimately it needs something more. I was looking for more flavor and more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I also subsituted green onions for the pepper. Also try adding 1/2 a pack of taco seasoning to the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC Beard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaver, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
It was a little too spicy for my liking but after leaving the really spicy out it was really pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Thanks for trying my recipe! I just stopped by to read the reviews and wanted to clarify how I make this yummy dip :). I drain the jalepeneos or use peeled roasted green chilis (which we buy in the fall and keep frozen on hand) or substitute canned mild green chilis to tone it down. And I almost always prepare this the night before and keep it refrigerated until cooking. Hopefully that will help y'all make it not so runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Rave reviews on Super Bowl Day! Only complaint is that the leftovers were not as yummy as when just made. Forget the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States