Spicy Korean Slow Cooked Chicken (Dhak Dori Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Made This tonight the family LOVED IT ! I did make a couple of changes I added celery and mushrooms and instead of water used chicken broth. Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best thing that I've made for him in the 13 years we've been married :) I did make the following changes, however: I had a whole roaster chicken, which I cut up and used for this recipe the wings, thighs, drumsticks and a few small pieces of breast (I used the whole breast for a different, non spicy recipe). I left the chicken pieces on the bone and trimmed the skin on them and then browned in batches in 1tbsp of canola oil. I removed the chicken and added the vegetables to the pan to soften, switching out the potatoes for 3 stalks of celery since I planned to serve this over rice. When the vegetables were soft I added Srirarcha (didn't have the gochujang but would like to try in the future) and the chili pepper flakes and stirred for a minute. I added the water and soy sauce then nestles the chicken pieces in the vegetables, covered and simmered for about 25 minutes, turning occasionally. I didn't add salt since I was using regular soy sauce. definitely a keeper, and am sure my hubby will insist I make it again. Will try the gochujang at some point too. As a note, my husband is from Nigeria and likes spicy food, usually adding hot sauce to everything and he didn't have to the way I made this, so note if you like spicy or want to reduce the heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Prepared as directed and it was great! *Very* spicy. My wife and I loved it that way, the kids devoured it but said it was a bit too spicy. No leftovers. The second time we prepared it we prepared two batches. The first was prepared exactly as before. Yum! The second was prepared in the same pan as the first but without adding *any* crushed red pepper. Any pepper was left from the first batch. Much milder for the kiddos. The only leftovers were barely enough for lunch the next day. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious and so easy! Unfortunately, I didn't have any gochujang so had to use sriracha and added a little sugar. It was still fantastic, but I'll have to pick up some gochujang and try again and experience it as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Simple, fast, tasty, spicy - sold. It will become a staple. One of the better things I've done with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe--changed the cooking methods a little; I pan-fried the chicken until crisp and golden, then added the soy sauce and let it cook through. The veggies I did separately (omitting the onion) in a fry-pan; I cooked them with the seasonings in a little bit of water until they were soft and cooked through. I like to use Rocoto chile paste (available in Mexican food stores); it is really spicy, but doesn't overpower the other flavors in the meal. Thanks!! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The smell and taste of this and instantly brought back feelings from my childhood. I can't explain it but it envoked so much emotion to me. What is even more odd is my mother never made this dish. Thank you for such a food experience. As to note the actual recipe. I made this exact with all the ingedients. Next time I will scale back to 2 tablespoons pepper paste and 1/2 teaspoon rep pepper flake. Also please try to go buy the gochujang. It is what makes the dish just right, gives it a nice depth with a little heat and it's own kind of slight sweet note. You will not find the same flavor in other sauces. You can pick up a small jar at a Korean market for around three dollars. Just make sure it is a deep red and it will look like tooth paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it and easy to make.I added mushrooms to the receipe and cut the chili to just 2 tablespoons, it was just as spicy. Husband and I very much enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The taste was good, but I didn't like the texture the potatoes brought to the dish. Like others I cut back on the heat and the next time I will make it without potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I thought this was fantastic but my husband found it too spicy even though I omitted the hot sauce. Too much crushed red pepper for him. I had to make him some bacon and eggs. I'll make it again, cutting the red pepper down and just add hot chili paste to mine when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States