Spicy Korean Red Pepper Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I'm not an authority on Korean food but I do love cucumber with vinegar. I followed the instructions the 1st time, all except for the Korean Hot Sauce, couldn't find it so used chili paste. I backed off on the chili paste, 2 tsp from 2 Tbsp; that had plenty of 'zip' for me. The next time I used only 1 Tbsp of sesame seeds & bumped up the sesame oil to 2 Tbsp and added 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobelady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Delicious delicious delicious!! I have has this recipe in my faves forever waiting to go to the Asian superman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I read the other reviews and kind of did a mix of other's suggestions. I also couldn't find the Korean hot sauce, so I used Sriracha and added a tablespoon of honey to it. I used 2 cucumbers and did salt them for 10 - 15 minutes before rinsing. After I mixed everything together, I thought it should be sweeter, so I added 2 teaspoons of sugar. I let it chill while I made Korean Bulgogi as the main dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Excellent!!! The only thing that I recommend is to cut the vinegar in half. Also, salt the cucumbers and let them sit to "sweat them out", rinse before coating with the dressing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is very good!! I did follow another reviewer and added 1 Tbs of sugar. You HAVE to use sesame oil because I think that's what make this soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This reminded me of another Korean cucumber recipe I've tried on this site. The other one had some salt added; it's better with salt. Otherwise, it's pretty much the same. I don't have "kochujang" so I did a little research on the net to see about making a sub. The closest I was able to come was to mix a sweetener with Sriracha (or whatever hot sauce/paste you're subbing). Apparently kochujang has sugar in it; I added a little Splenda to my Sriracha and called it a day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I substituted srihacha hot sauce instead of korean hot sauce, and cilantro for green onion. Exellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICY MAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I was looking for another side dish recipe for a Korean meal and this was perfect. Great recipe! I followed it almost exactly - I used apple cider vinegar and added a bit of sugar. I'd recommend either halving the sauce ingredients, or adding another cucumber, as this is quite saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
There's too much of the sauce. And I find it a bit too acidic, adding a bit of sugar and soy sauce or salt made it less acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I also wanted to add a note. To make it really authentic you can rinse your cucumbers after you slice them and sprinkle them with a pinch of salt for 10 minutes to wilt them a litte before you use them. I prefer mine a little more juicy, but my boyfriend likes them that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States