Spicy Italian Sausage and Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I would alter is to double the beans and rotini. Otherwise, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Substituted Spicy sausage for sweet sausage. WOW was this a good recipe. I was looking for a change up on our homemade chicken soup. After having a black bean/sausage soup at a local soup establishment I wanted to try something that would be similar to have at home. Check around on here for one, choose this one and I must say BINGO first try and I have to look no further. Next time will be with "Hot" sausage... Im sure my feelings will remain the same about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Just awesome! Family and I lived this hearty soup. I used hot Italian turkey sausage removed from the casing and cooked and crumbled. The red wine flavor really stands out. I used broken spaghetti as my pasta of choice that I cooked seperately so as not to make the soup too starchy. Fresh spinach and basil are also a must. Delicious, healthy and filling. I sprinkled some red hot pepper flakes on mine along with some grated romano cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe but with a few minor changes. I didnt have fresh basil so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried basil along with the oregano. I also thought another reviewer's idea to cook the sausage and spices a little longer made sense so I followed the directions, cooked for 30 minutes rather than 60, added the sausage, oregano and dried basil and cooked for 30 minutes. I didnt have rotini so I substituted small shells. We loved it. It was a little spicy probably since the sausage had 30 min more to add flavor but for our taste it was absolutely delicious. If you prefer it less hot then put the sausage in as the recipe states but I think adding the oregano after 30 min added a lot of flavor since it had time to simmer, 7-10 minutes wouldnt be enough. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
this is a delicious soup i cant wait to share it with my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It has lots of wonderful, healthy veggies and so many flavors. My whole family loved it and I'll definitely make it again. I made it exactly as the recipe is written, however it would be easy to modify it to include different veggies and/or meats. I had an opened bottle of shiraz that was the perfect red wine to go with the bold flavors of this dish. Excellent recipe and I'll make it again, especially when the weather cool off this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
It had a great flavor. I would use mild sausage instead of hot next time. I didn't have any basil, so I added some dry basil the same time I added the oregano. I also didn't have enough spinach, but I did chop up what I had and cooked it along with the other veggies. I also didn't have any of the rotini pasta, so I substituted egg noodles. With all my adjustments the soup was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow! A hit at my house. I used chilli chicken sausage instead of traditional Italian. It gave it a spicy hot bang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Gaborone, South-East, Botswana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This soup was a hit in my family! My teen-agers and all of their friends want me to make this again. My Husband took a bowl to work for lunch and it smelled the whole break room up-to the point that all his co-workers wanted a sample. May have to triple this recipe next time, which will be soon. I even sent this recipe to my friend who is in charge to the local Soup Kitchen! Thanks for posting...5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
great recipe - excellent flavour! didn't have fresh spinach so just omitted, and used dried basil. would try it with a smaller pasta such as penne or similar next time, but we loved it even with the minor adjustments. totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States