Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I make this recipe all the time, the only changes to it I made are no artichokes (not a fan) and roasted red peppers in olive oil(drained) instead of the chopped ones called for. Turns out perfect everytime and my friends and family always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is so excellent. I did not have tarragon vinegar so I used half rice vinegar and half balsamic vinegar and it worked perfect. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was okay, but nothing special. I love the ingredients in the dressing but I didn't like the dressing itself.. somehow, it was too tangy yet too bland at the same time. I used organic baby greens with fresh dill, parsley and basil, and that helped. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Per my preference, I used olive oil instead of canola oil. I omitted the red peppers and carrots, and added cherry tomatoes, sliced in half. I also added a little bit of table salt. I also used all black olives instead of green and black. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated ALL the vegetables (minus the lettuce of course) together and then tossed right before we ate dinner. I topped with homemade croutons. It was delicious! I served with lasagna, and many guests had second helpings of salad, rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Wow, this was every bit as good as the other reviewers say it is! I served it with lasagna for a large crowd; everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Made a double batch for our 8 person Gourmet Club and everyone loved it including my 2 grown boys who finished up the leftovers when I got home. The only change I made was to use half extra virgin olive oil. My husband and boys have requested I definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted a special salad to accompany the pasta dinner I made for my father-in-law's 90th birthday and I'm thrilled to have found this tasty recipe! So many salads are forgettable, but this one stands out; everyone loved it. For maximum dresing flavor, be sure to drain the artichoke hearts really well. I placed each piece upside down on a paper towel and pressed down lightly to remove as much liquid as possible. I also added some mozzarella fresca (fresh, marinated mozzarella balls) just before serving. This one gets a rave review from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very tasty and hearty salad. I chopped all of the vegetables in advance (adding tomatoes) and marinated them ALL in the dressing and tossed with lettuce right before serving. I will be making this salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Not too bad. I didn't have any cucumbers so I left them out. Looked pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This salad is wonderful to make ahead in containers of each ingredient and mixed at a dinner/party. It really is impressive to watch being mixed, of course, when you taste this salad you can't help but wonder where it's been all your life. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States