Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used the recipe as a guide, but used pepperoni, roasted red peppers, 1/2 red onion... didn't like the flavor at first, but after refrigerating it was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This salad was a great "hit" with our neighbors and they have all asked me to make it again or give them the recipe. I made a few changes as suggested by previous reviews. I used olive oil instead of canola, added more veggies (and definitely more garlic), marinated the carrots and black olives with the artichokes, added gourmet mozzarella cut into bite size pieces and put more grated Romano cheese on top of the salad when serving. I wasn't too sure about "chopping" the lettuce, so, I just tore it into bite size pieces. I am making it again today (one week later) and will add more artichokes. This is definitely a recipe I will keep, but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used 1/2 canola, and 1/2 olive oils. I also cut up all the veggies real small, more chopped. Then marinated all the veggies overnight. It almost has "slaw" consistency. Then before serving, I made some more dressing, and mixed romaine with the veggies, and a little more dressing, and fresh pepper. I served with Romano on the side. I was half tempted to serve the "slaw" on top of the romaine, because it was so colorful. Might do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Excellent. I used Rice vinegar with oregano and basic instead of vinegar with tarragon. I also used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this to accompany traditional spaghetti and meatballs. Substituted extra virgin olive oil for canola, otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was delicious with the meal and even better the next day. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A great starting point for the imagination. I loved the dressing, though I used olive oil and more garlic. The name spicy may be a bit misleading, as I did not find it spicy or even all that tangy, so I added roasted red peppers, pepperoni, and kalamata olives, and when it got served as leftovers the next day, it got everything but the kitchen sink thrown in! Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beach City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I make this recipe all the time, the only changes to it I made are no artichokes (not a fan) and roasted red peppers in olive oil(drained) instead of the chopped ones called for. Turns out perfect everytime and my friends and family always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is so excellent. I did not have tarragon vinegar so I used half rice vinegar and half balsamic vinegar and it worked perfect. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was okay, but nothing special. I love the ingredients in the dressing but I didn't like the dressing itself.. somehow, it was too tangy yet too bland at the same time. I used organic baby greens with fresh dill, parsley and basil, and that helped. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Per my preference, I used olive oil instead of canola oil. I omitted the red peppers and carrots, and added cherry tomatoes, sliced in half. I also added a little bit of table salt. I also used all black olives instead of green and black. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated ALL the vegetables (minus the lettuce of course) together and then tossed right before we ate dinner. I topped with homemade croutons. It was delicious! I served with lasagna, and many guests had second helpings of salad, rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States