Spicy Indian (Gujarati) Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I make this every few weeks. I have to TRY to NOT make it every night so my family doesn't get tired of it. When I first tried it, I had horseradish in the fridge, so I subed (1 Tbs) that for the black mustard seed until I had used it up. Then, I went to the local Pakistani market and bought the black mustard seed. I like the horseradish better! Very oily, can get by with 1/2 the oil, I think. I use frozen green beans for convenience. (I've tried fresh--wasn't an improvement, in my opinion.) Use crushed red pepper flakes in place of the chili pepper(about 1 tsp--we like spicy). This will get your family to eat more vegetables, and is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
An interesting tasty alternative to regular green beans. Makes a beautiful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Kamusikiri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Neither my husband or I were a fan. I think the taste was just a little too different for us. I will try to make these again, however, just in case I did something wrong and I will report back once I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yes! Very good! My kids were picking the green beans out of the pan as I sautéed it! I cut the oil back to about 1/3 the recommended, still cooked great! The black mustard seeds were easy to find at a local Indian market, $1.69.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The only thing I did differently was to "French" my green beans (any excuse to use a kitchen gadget). This recipe was so simple that I was sceptical, but this dish was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very tasty! The only change I made was to use half a fresh hot pepper, instead of a dried one...I don't like a lot of spice :) The browned up garlic bits were delicious! I did think it turned out too oily, maybe less next time. Great way to use up the first batch of garden beans this year, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by jbootydesigns
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Who knew green beans could have so much flavor. I'm defiantly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbootydesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
A really good green bean recipe. And, I'm not a huge green bean fan. I did not have black mustard seed (nor have I ever heard of it) but the internet told me to sub horseradish for it. That was the only change I made to the recipe. This recipe has been in my recipe box for a very long time. I'm really glad I finally made, and I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! My husband couldn't get enough of this recipe. I didn't have a hot red pepper, so I used about 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Just the right amount of heat. Thanks for posting this - I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic recipe that turned ordinary green beans into something great. Will make this again for sure - and will try other veggies with this spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States