Spicy Indian (Gujarati) Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jbootydesigns
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Who knew green beans could have so much flavor. I'm defiantly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbootydesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
A really good green bean recipe. And, I'm not a huge green bean fan. I did not have black mustard seed (nor have I ever heard of it) but the internet told me to sub horseradish for it. That was the only change I made to the recipe. This recipe has been in my recipe box for a very long time. I'm really glad I finally made, and I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! My husband couldn't get enough of this recipe. I didn't have a hot red pepper, so I used about 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Just the right amount of heat. Thanks for posting this - I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic recipe that turned ordinary green beans into something great. Will make this again for sure - and will try other veggies with this spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Had to improvise - no black mustard seeds, but I figured that no one was the wiser. Used Garam Masala blend instead, and fantastic, TASTY results! Didn't measure, but whatever amt was great. I also added Coriander, and a little ginger powder. No beans from the garden on this attempt, but the steam in the bag worked great - 1/2 the time in the microwave, and then slow simmer in the pan. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsparksmsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Really good, watch the amount of heat you want be controlling the amount of crushed chili you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Way too much oil! You need barely 2 tsp. oil and No need to pre cook the beans either! No Indians I know pre cook the beans...beans are stir fried after the mustard seeds pop in oil and spices are then added. (I an Indian). You can cook all green vegies the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I'm always on the lookout for vegetable and vegetarian recipes that are tasty, use inexpensive ingredients - especially if I keep them on hand - and don't require a lot of work to prepare. Last night I made this Indian green bean recipe and was delighted with the results, however I made a few small changes: I used canola oil instead of butter (about 2 Tbsp., not 1/4 cup), brown mustard seeds instead of black, as that's all I had, and only had 1/2 pound of green beans, so I added 1/2 lb. of carrots, cut in the same size and shape as the beans. I steamed the carrots over boiling water until almost tender, then blanched the beans in the boiling water for three minutes before shocking both the carrots and the beans in cold water. I then sauteed the vegetables in the oil in a large pan and seasoned them with the salt, sugar, crushed chili, and 1/4 tsp. pepper. I served the beans with tandoori chicken (chicken pieces marinated in tandoori paste and plain yogurt, then baked). Both my husband and I loved the flavour of the garlicky vegetables. The only change I'll make in future is to cut back the salt to 3/4 tsp. Although the two-step preparation is a little more work than I'd like, this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Like others, I didn't have the black mustard seed on hand so I used 1 teaspoon of mustard powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. Turned out very well. Next time I will try and track down the exact spices. It was very good as I made it, but I know with the exact spices mentioned it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Tried with Broccoli instead of green beans.. very tasty with our curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States