Spicy Indian (Gujarati) Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yes! Very good! My kids were picking the green beans out of the pan as I sautéed it! I cut the oil back to about 1/3 the recommended, still cooked great! The black mustard seeds were easy to find at a local Indian market, $1.69.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The only thing I did differently was to "French" my green beans (any excuse to use a kitchen gadget). This recipe was so simple that I was sceptical, but this dish was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very tasty! The only change I made was to use half a fresh hot pepper, instead of a dried one...I don't like a lot of spice :) The browned up garlic bits were delicious! I did think it turned out too oily, maybe less next time. Great way to use up the first batch of garden beans this year, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by jbootydesigns
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Who knew green beans could have so much flavor. I'm defiantly making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbootydesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
A really good green bean recipe. And, I'm not a huge green bean fan. I did not have black mustard seed (nor have I ever heard of it) but the internet told me to sub horseradish for it. That was the only change I made to the recipe. This recipe has been in my recipe box for a very long time. I'm really glad I finally made, and I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! My husband couldn't get enough of this recipe. I didn't have a hot red pepper, so I used about 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Just the right amount of heat. Thanks for posting this - I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic recipe that turned ordinary green beans into something great. Will make this again for sure - and will try other veggies with this spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Had to improvise - no black mustard seeds, but I figured that no one was the wiser. Used Garam Masala blend instead, and fantastic, TASTY results! Didn't measure, but whatever amt was great. I also added Coriander, and a little ginger powder. No beans from the garden on this attempt, but the steam in the bag worked great - 1/2 the time in the microwave, and then slow simmer in the pan. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guillermo Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Really good, watch the amount of heat you want be controlling the amount of crushed chili you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Way too much oil! You need barely 2 tsp. oil and No need to pre cook the beans either! No Indians I know pre cook the beans...beans are stir fried after the mustard seeds pop in oil and spices are then added. (I an Indian). You can cook all green vegies the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States