Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I would have rated this three or so when I first made it as the lackluster flavor did not justify the effort. So, we only ate a little and put the rest in the refrigerator. A couple of days later, I heated it up for a quick meal, planning to add some stuff to spice it up. Not needed! Wow, what a difference! Sitting for a while really brought out the promised spicy, wonderful flavors. Now I make it in advance and it is a favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Perfection! What an amazing recipe. With few modifications (my tomatoes were very juicy, so I added only 1/3 cup of water, also I salted this dish -- it needs it!), I would have to say this is some of the most delicious food I've ever enjoyed. The flavors of jalapegno, garlic, tomatoes and the spices blended so perfectly. My husband used several expletives and the word 'abrosia' to describe his pleasure. This is on our 'must share with friends' short list. Thank you so much for sharing!!!! P.S. Individuals with sensitive palates should note that I added two huge jalepegnos, and used the seeds from only one of them. This produced a very high level of heat for us, and we are accustomed to eating hot food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I liked it. I only used 2 jalapenos instead of 3 as called for! In my laziness, I did not cook the lentils separately. I sautéed the veggies and at the point where you are supposed to cook down the tomatoes, I just added my lentils and chicken broth (instead of the water), brought it to a boil, then let it all simmer together for about 40 minutes. And I only used one medium sized onion instead of 3 and 3 large cloves of garlic instead of 6...whoooa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was not only Healthy and Low Fat but delicious as well. I used 2 can s of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, just to save time. Thanks so much for the recipe, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This dish has a wonderful aroma and flavor. I usually do not cook with fresh tomatoes (I don't like their texture or flavor), but enjoyed this combination. I would add sliced carrots and green peppers for more color contrast, reducing the number of tomatoes to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I would give this 10 stars if I could. It was the hit of my Indian Feast. This was a great recipe. Very easy to cook and a great compliment to the spicy foods associated with Indian cooking. I served it with Spicy Chicken Curry, Vegetable Biryani, Cilantro Chutney, and Naan. It made a great meal for guests who enjoy Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I have been searching for the perfect dahl recipe for years--and tonight I found it! I made a few minor changes. I used only 2 onions. Scaled the tomatoes down to 2 (tho I regretted not using 4). I added about 1/2 tsp of turmeric, mainly for colour. I also toasted whole spices and then ground them up. I simmered the cooked lentils with the rest of the ingredients for about 10 minutes to meld the flavours. I bet it will be even better the next day! (If I don't polish it off sooner!) Thank you for sharing. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I thought this was a soup. I guess I should have guessed by the small amount of water that the recipe called for. So it's just a Dahl, and a rather good one at that, but too many onions for my tastes. I really wanted a soup for this dinner, so I just added 2 cups of water at the end of the process and voilà, a spicy Dahl soup was born. I already make a Dahl and much easier. Throw all the ingredients into a pressure cooker and 10m later all is done. Easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by DMS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
WAY TOO MUCH ONION. I recommend using only 1 med to large onion. I also used only 2 jalapenos and it was fine. I wish this recipe had the ingredients ordered in the order of use - otherwise, I had to take the time to mark out what I needed to do. I would also add how finely chopped the ingredients needed to be. In my opinion, it would have been better if I had made the onions FINELY diced so as not to compete with the lentils. With reducing the onion content dramatically, this is otherwise a very tasty (and vegan) dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was a great recipe.... Whether you consider it a dahl or a soup ( I actually like my lentil soups think). It's very simple to prepare, there is the chopping of the onions and the mincing of the Ginger, garlic and cilantro, but I let my mini food processor do that ! I used a large can of WHOLE tomatoes including the juice instead of fresh.I did cut them in large chunks. ( I don't like canned diced tomatoes as they tend to disintergrate to quickly) . I used double the cilantro. The color was bland, so I added some turmeric that a prior reviewer suggested. I didn't use naan. I actually served this in mini whole grain bread boules. I made a tray of condiments and things for my guests to add on their own.... Jalapenos, yogurt, fresh peas, baby shrimp , cubed chicken, more cilantro, chick peas, quinoa. My family and guests really liked being to add what they wanted and adjusting the amount of cilantro and jalapenos. I served lime and mango sherbert for desert... Light and refreshing ending! I'll make this again and again. I froze leftovers in individual containers... I always make a double batch. Freezes great for a great lunch, side dish, dip, or dinner again . You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States