Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I would give this 10 stars if I could. It was the hit of my Indian Feast. This was a great recipe. Very easy to cook and a great compliment to the spicy foods associated with Indian cooking. I served it with Spicy Chicken Curry, Vegetable Biryani, Cilantro Chutney, and Naan. It made a great meal for guests who enjoy Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I liked it. I only used 2 jalapenos instead of 3 as called for! In my laziness, I did not cook the lentils separately. I sautéed the veggies and at the point where you are supposed to cook down the tomatoes, I just added my lentils and chicken broth (instead of the water), brought it to a boil, then let it all simmer together for about 40 minutes. And I only used one medium sized onion instead of 3 and 3 large cloves of garlic instead of 6...whoooa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I skipped the onions as I am allergic, but followed the rest precisely. Yum! The cilantro really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DMS
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
WAY TOO MUCH ONION. I recommend using only 1 med to large onion. I also used only 2 jalapenos and it was fine. I wish this recipe had the ingredients ordered in the order of use - otherwise, I had to take the time to mark out what I needed to do. I would also add how finely chopped the ingredients needed to be. In my opinion, it would have been better if I had made the onions FINELY diced so as not to compete with the lentils. With reducing the onion content dramatically, this is otherwise a very tasty (and vegan) dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
good, easy, and a great side dish to go with an Indian dinner. Served w/a chicken curry and basmati rice. I did find the cumin to be a bit overpowering of the other flavors so next time will add a little less. I did add a bit of spinach, and the cilantro is a must! It tasted so much better after I added it. Served w/a dollop of yogurt. (I also added some Tunisian chili spice to make it spicier so the yogurt was nice to offset the heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Tastes really similar to the dahl served at Cosmic Cafe in Dallas, Texas. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is a new house favorite. I subtracted one jalapeno pepper and added some tumeric. After boiling a cup of lentils in 4 cups of water there was enough liquidity that I also subtracted the cup of water that is called for. It is fairly labor intensive due to the chopping and stirring but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
It tastes alright, but chopping up 3 onions took forever with my eyes watering like mad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was so good. I made a simple flat bread with it and even my husband (who scorns soups or anything spicy) thought it was very good. I only used one jalepeno to turn down the heat for my family but it was easy to spice up one bowl with chili paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States