Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Easy, tasty, but not a little lacking in the flavour department. Needed a little extra zip, but I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Good recipe...better than other dahl recipes I've tried because the lentil flavor was not overpowering. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I LOVED this dish! It goes great with Naan bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
just ok - think i could find a better recipe. my first attempt at dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was tasty, but it was not very spicy and it also seemed to be missing some key flavors that I usually expect from Dahl. I would compare this more to a lentil soup than a traditional Dahl. Still quite tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I've changed it around slightly to suit me and when taking it to work, I'd get people hovering around my office as the aromas would seep out and down the hallways.... it's filling and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was terrific! I found also a Chipate recipe on this site. So last night we had Dahl and Chipates! Excellent! Thanks so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I really love this receipe as an appetizer. Serve with some garlic Naan bread as a dip. 2 Jalapenos is enough but don't skimp on the garlic. Great vegetarian dish over rice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Perfection! What an amazing recipe. With few modifications (my tomatoes were very juicy, so I added only 1/3 cup of water, also I salted this dish -- it needs it!), I would have to say this is some of the most delicious food I've ever enjoyed. The flavors of jalapegno, garlic, tomatoes and the spices blended so perfectly. My husband used several expletives and the word 'abrosia' to describe his pleasure. This is on our 'must share with friends' short list. Thank you so much for sharing!!!! P.S. Individuals with sensitive palates should note that I added two huge jalepegnos, and used the seeds from only one of them. This produced a very high level of heat for us, and we are accustomed to eating hot food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Added a can of yellow curry paste and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States