Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except I only used 2 jalapenos because I knew my kids would be eating it. I will make again, but next time I will use less water. I think it came out a little too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe is excellent. We first had Dahl on the Celebrity Cruise Line. We loved it! This was just as good if not better than the cruise lines. Can't wait to have some tomorrow. Very low fat! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Good, very forgiving recipe... Did two things different: Ghee instead of oil and added approx. 12 cloves. These give it more depth and spiciness. Also like the other reviewer said, it gets better after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
great! i added 1 Tbs of curry and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and red pepper flakes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Couldn't find red lentils, so used green instead and I think that did the recipe some disservice. I find that it tasted better the next day and great with chapati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Perfect combination of flavors! I changed it a little by cooking the 1 cup of lentils with 2 cups of water in with all the other ingriedients for 45 minutes. It made really great lentil soup that I served with basamati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Amoroso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I am really sorry but we just did not like this recipe. First it was written out of order which is rather frustrating when you are trying to time and prepare multiple components of a meal. Secondly it was weirdly full if spice but yet still bland. eating it with chutney and Naan helped but we didn't even bother to save the leftovers of which there was a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
To simplify this and to save time, I started with step 2. I didn't have jalapenos so I used chilis. Same effect. I used powder for cumin, coriander and garlic. Then I added the raw lentils and water to the same skillet (no time in this house to pre-cook anything and no intention of using a pressure cooker!). Cover tightly and simmer on low until the lentils are soft. Keep adding water if needed. Nice to do on a Sunday when you are just hanging around. This recipe is absolutely delish, healthy and mouthwatering tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe, but I didn't. As another reviewer said, it's both flavorful and bland at the same time. I used freshly purchased spices, but I still found the flavors to be dull, even after sitting for a couple of days in the fridge. I certainly wouldn't describe it as "spicy," and I'm still looking for a good everyday dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States