Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic! I had green lentils on hand so I used those, and instead of cooking them beforehand, I cooked them for about 45 minutes after adding the tomatoes. So flavorful and delicious - I will be making this again! (also, make sure you carmelize the onions/garlic - it adds such a wonderful flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
So surprised that we all liked this. I've never cooked lentils or made Indian food before. The consistency of this would have been WAY to thick to be considered a soup. I used at least 2 cups of chicken broth and put some of the mix into a blender to use as a main-meal dip for Naan. I was hesitant about the overload of onions and used 2 large onions. I was shocked that it wasn't really flavorful and will probably add more or other spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious!!! I doubled the amount of red lentils and spices, and used one and half cups of water and half a cup of tomato souce. I also served it with garlic bread. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this several times and guests always love it. I change a few things here and there - especially the heat - according to my guests. Served with brown rice and cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this is wonderful don't know where they say its tasteless, tastes and smells heavenly thankyou so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is not good. At all. Sorry. It doesn't taste like true Indian food, and it's not the right kind of spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except I only used 2 jalapenos because I knew my kids would be eating it. I will make again, but next time I will use less water. I think it came out a little too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe is excellent. We first had Dahl on the Celebrity Cruise Line. We loved it! This was just as good if not better than the cruise lines. Can't wait to have some tomorrow. Very low fat! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Good, very forgiving recipe... Did two things different: Ghee instead of oil and added approx. 12 cloves. These give it more depth and spiciness. Also like the other reviewer said, it gets better after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States