Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I am eating and typing at the same time. THIS IS FABULOUS! I had to improvise with a couple of ingredients like the ginger garlic paste (I used pickled ginger and minced garlic) and I had no Bay leaves at all, but it doesn't seem to be lacking. We are a family of salt lovers, however, so next time I will salt the chicken first.Keep a beverage nearby because the spices 'sneak' up on you. WONDERFUL & EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Better than the Indian Restaurants! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I have made this twice now. First with chicken thighs and again with chicken breasts. The thighs are much more tender and produces more juices, thus making for a more abundant sauce. I did reduce the amount of red pepper by half as well as the black pepper. I also crushed the spices and broke the cinnamon stick in half only. The flavour was great. A bit of work but worth the time! This definitely beats the jarred curry mixes etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Really great for those who love spicy food. Easy, too -- in fact the only difficult part is having the ingredients. I couldn't find the cardamom pods, so I used 3 Tbs. Madras Tamarind Hot Curry (purchased at Cost Plus) and it came out great. Also added more red pepper (we like it HOT!) and a few grinds of sea salt. Since I planned to use a slow cooker after heating the oil and combining the ingredients, I reduced the oil by half. After putting the mixture in the cooker, I added about 4 ounces of chicken stock and let it cook for around 2 hours. Really tasty served over basmati rice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I thought this was an excellent recipe. After reading everyone's advice, I held back on some of the spice - A bad idea for us. I made a few substitutions for what was in our cupboard. Traded out thighs for breasts, ginger garlic paste for garlic chili paste and ground ginger, cinnamon ground rather than stick, no cardamoms, parsey for bay leaves - this was a bad idea, clove ground for whole, coriander ground for seeds... I followed other peoples' comments about adding adding a bit of broth since breasts aren't as juicy as thighs and using the slow cooker. Both excellent ideas. Also, I added a ton of veggies (basically, veggies make me happy) - 4 carrots (2:1 for each breast), about 6 celery ribs (1.5:1), 8 baby red potatoes(2:1) , 4 tomatoes (1:1), 8 baby bell peppers (2:1). This filled up my entire huge slow cooker - low for 4 hours with froz ckn, pull out ckn, cut up and put back in, high for 1 hour. We ate what we could, then packed up some for lunches and froze the rest. Very excellent recipe, it will definately be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very gourmet- cut down slightly on the spices, added chopped tomato and served with couscous; quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This is such a treat! My husband and children loved it. I added salt and let me sy that this really brings out a rich flavor. The way its supposed to be ;) And served over basmati rice is the best. This is by far the best chicken recipe I have tried in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
~Whooooooa! HoLy Spicy I wiLL saY..umm.. I wiLL make sure To GRIND THE SPICES weLL nexT Time For sure. GooD Though. IF iT wasn'T so HoT, I mighT acTuaLLy make iT again.. And aLso I used BreasTs..YuMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I didn't have the pods, ginger-garlic paste or the peppercorn. I went without the pods, added ginger and fresh garlic separately and substituted large pepper for peppercorn. That said, this dish was absolutely wonderful! The ingredients were normal and me and my husband both love spicy hot food and this dish did not disappoint. I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was fantastic!! Very SPICY!!! It only took about 15 minutes to simmer. I added 2/3 cup of water and it made a great sauce to go with rice. I used chicken breast instead of thighs and didn't use the cardamon pods or corriander. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States