Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Super flavour. I only used 1/2 the red pepper flakes and it was still too hot for me (made the back of my head sweat *grin*), but my husband thought it was just right and could have gone hotter. Didn't enjoy crunching on the corriander seeds, broken cinnamon bits and cloves, etc, so will grind the spices next time and leave the cinnamon stick whole. Good portion size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My husband is Indian and very picky about Indian food. According to him, he will only eat Indian food that is as good as his moms.I cook as American as apple pie. Let's just say, I didn't have any leftovers that night. The only thing to watch out for is the red pepper flakes. A pinch goes a long way in the spicey hot department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I didn't like the flavor. A lot of heat (which I do like) but just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
This is a good, solid curry recipe. I decreased the proportion of spicy ingredients because I had some guests over who weren't the biggest fan of spicey foods, and it was still a bit spicey for them. I personally loved it. The flavor is really good, but not excellent, hence the four stars. Serve this with some raita, naan, and saffron/coconut rice, and you have yourself a delicious Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Excellent curry and easy to prepare! I used two tbsps of red pepper, and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was fantastic!! Very SPICY!!! It only took about 15 minutes to simmer. I added 2/3 cup of water and it made a great sauce to go with rice. I used chicken breast instead of thighs and didn't use the cardamon pods or corriander. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Really great for those who love spicy food. Easy, too -- in fact the only difficult part is having the ingredients. I couldn't find the cardamom pods, so I used 3 Tbs. Madras Tamarind Hot Curry (purchased at Cost Plus) and it came out great. Also added more red pepper (we like it HOT!) and a few grinds of sea salt. Since I planned to use a slow cooker after heating the oil and combining the ingredients, I reduced the oil by half. After putting the mixture in the cooker, I added about 4 ounces of chicken stock and let it cook for around 2 hours. Really tasty served over basmati rice. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I didn't have the pods, ginger-garlic paste or the peppercorn. I went without the pods, added ginger and fresh garlic separately and substituted large pepper for peppercorn. That said, this dish was absolutely wonderful! The ingredients were normal and me and my husband both love spicy hot food and this dish did not disappoint. I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
~Whooooooa! HoLy Spicy I wiLL saY..umm.. I wiLL make sure To GRIND THE SPICES weLL nexT Time For sure. GooD Though. IF iT wasn'T so HoT, I mighT acTuaLLy make iT again.. And aLso I used BreasTs..YuMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This curry had a very good taste...however, next time, I will crush the coriander seeds before using them. Every bite, i would bite into a seed and the flavor would be too strong. Also, next time, I may use chicken breasts. The chicken thighs were a little too fatty for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States