Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Yummy curry not so yummy. I followed this exactly. Had a hard time find whole green cardamom pods. Still I was going to make this as written, so I waited until I found some. I did remove the bay leaves, cinnamon stick before serving. It was about a three star UNTIL I SANK MY TEATH IN TO A CLOVE. Even without this happening we all thought it had a kick to it but needed something (salt-maybe). After learning more you should not use curry powder but make you own curry. Curry is not a spice but a blend of spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I restrained myself from modifying the ingredients due to the reviews (I always modify everything). Glad I did! My husband is from India, and he is picky about his food. Boy was I tempted to use garam masala (that my husband's Mom made) instead of the curry powder (real indian curries never use curry powder, please!). Well my husband loved this, said it tasted like his Mom's. The only thing I did different was I cooked it more traditionally-I browned the onions in oil first, then added the ginger garlic, then the spices, stirred it for a couple minutes, then proceeded with the chicken and continued. It did need a little water added to it. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I didn't like this at all, but my husband said it was ok (I'll go with his star rating as he's from India and knows more about the food than I). I keep going back to the recipe to see what I missed - there was nothing to simmer. The chicken thighs gave off a little liquid, but not enough to get a good simmer going. I added more of the spices and then even tried to doctor it up a bit with garam masala and some other spices, but no dice. I cook Indian food all the time and this one just doesn't do it for us - which is a shame as these are all pretty standard ingredients in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I love Indian food. I did not like this recipe. I would like to think I messed up the ingredients. I am an excellent cook and this is an easy recipe. I found it to be too sweet. I used minimal red pepper (kids)and ground coriander. I also had no cardamom. I think this could have made a difference. Even though, I still think this recipe is lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
As far as curry goes, this recipe is a good basic recipe. Easy to prepare and has some good flavor and heat. However, I changed a few things as others did as well. I grinded the spices down to bring out more flavor and make the dish easier to eat. I also added some stock and cream to finish it off so that there would be extra sauce to have with my rice. I'd add additional fresh red peppers (diced w/ seeds) if you want more heat. Either reduce the sauce by simmering it uncovered or add a cornstarch slurry at the end. Also, I think this dish could really go well with some veggies. I'll put some baby corn, asparagus, or eggplant in next time. If you want to add some presentation quality to it, I think some deep fried julienned sweet potato would go well as a garnish or fried onions to add some contrasting crunch. Much love to your cooking...cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was easy and yummy. I didn't find it hot enough, though, and I used all the spices in the recipe. Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was good, but not like Indian restaurants. It could have been because I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, omitted the cardamom and coriander because I didn't have any. It needed a bit of salt to get the full flavor. It was spicy though, which was good because I'm pregnant and heard that spicy food induces labor and I'm ready to have this baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very gourmet- cut down slightly on the spices, added chopped tomato and served with couscous; quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I thought this was an excellent recipe. After reading everyone's advice, I held back on some of the spice - A bad idea for us. I made a few substitutions for what was in our cupboard. Traded out thighs for breasts, ginger garlic paste for garlic chili paste and ground ginger, cinnamon ground rather than stick, no cardamoms, parsey for bay leaves - this was a bad idea, clove ground for whole, coriander ground for seeds... I followed other peoples' comments about adding adding a bit of broth since breasts aren't as juicy as thighs and using the slow cooker. Both excellent ideas. Also, I added a ton of veggies (basically, veggies make me happy) - 4 carrots (2:1 for each breast), about 6 celery ribs (1.5:1), 8 baby red potatoes(2:1) , 4 tomatoes (1:1), 8 baby bell peppers (2:1). This filled up my entire huge slow cooker - low for 4 hours with froz ckn, pull out ckn, cut up and put back in, high for 1 hour. We ate what we could, then packed up some for lunches and froze the rest. Very excellent recipe, it will definately be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I have made this twice now. First with chicken thighs and again with chicken breasts. The thighs are much more tender and produces more juices, thus making for a more abundant sauce. I did reduce the amount of red pepper by half as well as the black pepper. I also crushed the spices and broke the cinnamon stick in half only. The flavour was great. A bit of work but worth the time! This definitely beats the jarred curry mixes etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States