Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I did this on limited resources and it was delicious! I didn't have coriander, cardamom, bay leaves, peppercorn seeds, garlic ginger paste or cinnamon sticks! But ground pepper and ground cinnamon worked just fine. I added a cup of chicken bouillion broth to 1/2 cup of evap milk beacause it does require some add'l liquid. I like my curry sweet and hot so I added a tbsp of sugar, extra red pepper flakes and a tsp of chilli pepper. Add some potato chunks to simmer with your curry and it is hmmmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I don't know how it's possible to create gravy when there is NO LIQUID used aside from three tablespoons of oil. It's a mystery. Like KatieCat, I added a can of coconut milk, some chicken broth, and that improved it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I too am surprised at all the high ratings, I followed it exactly (with exception to many people's note of using ground coriander, and cloves) and in the end had very dry bland spicy chicken. Not wanting to waste my meal, I added a can of coconut milk and about 1/4 cup of brown sugar--- it is now edible, but still not going to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was exactly what I was looking for. I didn't have any cinnamon sticks but it still tasted great! I added a diced fresh chilli to add a bit more heat and added carrots, mushrooms and spinach to make it a little healthier. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Awesome! The gravy comes by leaving the lid on while it cooks. If you want it thicker, take the lid off. This is the real deal! I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Yummy and how! All I would change is to omit the red pepper flakes because I used a spicy curry. There are so many differnt curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yummy! I added peas to this dish and used chicken tendors instead of breasts! This is a really easy recipe, especially if you work. Next time, I think I will make it a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
*note, extract the whole spices after they have been sauteed. Don't eat them whole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Taylor 40403

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lily, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Great taste. I forgot the bay leaves, and instead of ginger garlic paste I used canned ginger which I minced. Season the dish with some lime juice and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I love this easy recipe! I recommend adding coconut milk and wrapping the pods, bay leaves and other unedible ingredients in cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States