Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The recipe is definitely missing three things: milk or coconut milk, chicken broth, and SALT! That's why there's "no gravy" and it's "spicy, yet bland." I think the author of the recipe probably just forgot to type in these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I liked the idea of this recipe, but there's no actual gravy to it. I added a bit of ketchup and relish and a splash of lemon juice to add enough sauce to serve over rice. I know ketchup and relish sounds weird, but the relish gives the recipe a little sweetness, and I didn't have any other tomato sauce or paste. My curry turned out pretty spicy, which I love. I would add chicken stock, tomato paste and maybe raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I have eaten a lot of Indian food from a variety of sources and I was not a fan of this. It was spicy, but flavor was lacking. I even added some coconut milk to help, but to no avail. I suggest trying a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
VERY spicy and very bland!! Also there was very little gravy and it was grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This could be really spicy for some people. The more you let it sit the better it taste. I didn't have the ingredients whole but I used them grounded. I would brown the chicken next time. I did add chicken stock, carrots and potatoes. I didnt have rice to go with it and I put two envelopes of Ramen soup noodles in the pot at the end and it was different but really good. Overall I found it very good and so my family. The second day though we all found it excellent. I originally gave 4 stars and I had to change it to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Wow, this was a hot one! I too scaled down the red pepper flakes & peppercorns by half, added 1 cup bouillon & 1/2 cup heavy cream, but this was still hot enough that my husband (a lover of spicy foods) had to drink 3 glasses of soda to get through the meal. I would definitely recommend adding the extra liquids if you want a sauce to go along with this though. You won't have one if you don't! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnammonngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was my first time making curry and it turned out to be delicious! The one thing I will change for next time is to lower the heat by significantly reducing the red pepper flakes. My husband and I both love spicy food but this one was a bit too much for us!! Would probably be good with some coconut milk or cream, too. Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I have made this recipe twice. Once following the recipe to a tee; the second time adding light coconut milk and cilantro as a previous reviewer suggested. It's "okay" as written (and very spicy if you add that whole T of red pepper flakes), but totally delicious with the coconut milk and cilantro! That sweetness really complements the spicy. I grind the clove and the cinnamon stick and also add yellow squash and whatever vegetables I have on hand in the last 5-7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is super easy, and a great starter recipe for those that want to slowly approach cooking with the depth of spices in Indian cooking. I added about a cup of water to create the 'gravy', and some salt since I think it needed it. Served it with Basmati rice, balanced very well, also my kids enjoyed it. There is some depth missing though, not sure how I could have fixed that; I have had wonderful Indian food in the past, but I am not experienced in Indian cooking. Because of the ease, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Easy, simple and Delicious. Its really yummy. I used Garam masala powder instead of coriander, cardamom, bay leaves, peppercorn seeds and cinnamon sticks, even though i had these things. I guess I was just being a bit lazy, but its still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States