Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
It was the best curry ever! Somewhere between korma and tikka masala. Creamy but spicy. But I do have one advice for anyone who is interested, DO NOT BE AFRAID TO ADD MORE SPICES!! I have made my own curry powder and I have marinaded chicken over night prior to cooking. Here is my curry powder recipe, two servings, ENJOY!!! 3tsp Cilantro/Coriander powder 4tsp Cumin 1/2tsp Very hot chilli powder 1/2tsp Chopped ginger 1/2tsp Chopped garlic 1tsp Garlic powder 2tsp Sugar 2tsp Mixed spice (Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Ginger, Cloves, Dill seeds, Coriander) 1tsp Turmeric 2tsp Paprika powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
While I didn't follow this faithfully, the results were unbelievable. I had no fresh mango, so I went to the freezer and used a tropical fruit mix I use for smoothies, which had papaya, mango, and pineapple. I also used half a sweet onion in place of the shallots and added sliced red bell pepper and snow peas and let them simmer in the sauce with the chicken for about ten minutes. I did not add any seasonings, but also was fairly heavy handed with the curry paste. The balance of sweet with spicy was really, really delightful. This is going to be in the regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made a few changes. My family really loved this and ate the whole double batch in one setting. I had to use frozen mangoes and light coconut milk (what I had in pantry). I sauteed half an onion with 1 garlic clove before adding the chicken, then sprinkled garam masala on the chicken while cooking. I added 1 T of curry powder. For garnish bowl, I chopped green onions and mixed them with leftover marinated cucumbers, drained and chopped (marinated in spicy vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I think this is a fantastic, and very fast, easy recipe with restaurant quality results. I used a Thai red curry paste instead of Indian. I was able to cook it while chatting and it did not take a lot of concentration.....The secret is in the fresh mangos. Let them ripen fully. Plan on buying them a week ahead of making this recipe and put them in a cool cabinet to ripen (don't leave them in plastic). This was even better after sitting for a day and being reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyahna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Ellen
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I had to alter the recipe a bit myself, but the outcome was very very delicious! I didn't have any cury paste in my pantry, so I used spicy cury powder instead. I started off with frying onions, the added the chicken and curry powder (also put in red peppers). I then added the puree, and stirred in more curry powder to taste. Also, I added salt to taste. It was excellent, I got many compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was good but it needed something else. I added some ginger, cinamon, red pepper, and I sprinkled some sugar. That kicked it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Due to the coconut milk and mango, this tasted more Thai than Indian. It was a little bland as is, so I added some Fish sauce until I liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I made it with tofu instead of chicken so it doubles as a tasty vegetarian recipe as well. I'm a big coconut fan so I added some coconut flakes cooked with the tofu and curry paste and it was a very good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very very good! Something unique and delicious. I added coconut flakes like others suggested and extra spices (garlic, onion powder, turmeric, cumin, ginger, and cinnamon). My husband asked that we make it again frequently. We agreed it was like something you would go to a restaurant for because of the uniqueness and the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
My husband and I loved this, and it was very easy to make and fast. I used Pataks Mild Curry Paste (cilantro and cumin). The combination of tastes with the rest of the ingredients was great with basmati rice. I'm sure it will also make excellent leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States