Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I really like the sweet undertones contrasting with the spiciness of the curry. The mango puree really adds a lot of thickness without a lot of fat. The coconut adds enough fat on its own! I had to add a dash of salt but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buddy
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I hate to leave a mediocre review but this was a bit bland. As others have previously stated, it needs MORE SPICE! I added some crushed Thai chili peppers, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, ginger, and a little salt. That seemed to help a bit. I may make this again, but I will be altering even further with a few more spices and ingredients. Nice base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious! The red curry paste I found appears to have no spice whatsoever in it but the whole family and the friends I made it for loved it. Making it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My family loved this. My changes were to use 3 large mangos and since I had powdered coconut I used this with some fruit juice (mango/orange) in place of the coconut milk. To kick up the colour of the sauce I added 3 tablespoons of chopped parsley into the blender. Both the color and flavor were vivid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent curry although I did make a couple of adjusmtents. I added a good tablespoon of mango chutney to the coconut milk mix with the fresh mango and more curry paste to the chicken. Results were fantastic - a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very yummy!! Perfect amount of spice but very flavorful and satisfying. I will definitely make this many more times as I LOVE a good curry recipe. I added the garam marsala and garlic as recommended, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
HOLY SHALLOTS! I did it exactly like the recipe said, and the amount of shallots completely over powered everything...as for taking half of the mangoes and not putting them in the blender...totally not indian food style. I was looking for a recipe similar to a meal at our local indian restaurant...this was NOT it. I bet if I could tweak 90% of the recipe it would have come out better. The only thing that saved it was the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yummy. I used spice blend instead of curry paste. Light and creamy, mango is mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very very good! Something unique and delicious. I added coconut flakes like others suggested and extra spices (garlic, onion powder, turmeric, cumin, ginger, and cinnamon). My husband asked that we make it again frequently. We agreed it was like something you would go to a restaurant for because of the uniqueness and the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Lovely! I can't wait to make it again for my mother or sister. I blended all the mangoes because my man said he didn't like things too "fruity" and I used a Massaman curry paste which gave it a really rich flavor without being too sweet. Next time I might try cutting the coco milk with coconut powder to make it a little lighter. Super quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States