Spicy Honey Mustard Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This recipe is worthy of 5 stars, only I think maybe ( and this could totally be only me that thinks this) the instructions should have included a bit of water in the bottom of the pan to keep the honey mustard sauce from burning onto the bottom. Keeping just enough water in the bottom throughout the baking process makes a really flavorvul juice that would go well with throwing some potatos in for the last 30 mins. However the combination of flavors are simple and wonderful and I am quite happy I found this recipe. Thanks V Greer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Used the slow cooker for this and it was delicious. I had a 1 1/2 lb pork loin. Laid it on a piece of foil (without browning it first) and poured the mustard mix over it. Wrapped the foil tightly around it and place it flat in the slow cooker, on high for 2 hours, then another 7 hours at low. Actually did this overnight. It coated beautifully and was SO tender. Used only about a teaspoon of black pepper. The only change I will make next time is to directly salt and pepper the pork all over before laying it on the foil. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
We loved the flavor in this recipe!!! I wish I had taken the advice of other reviewers and added a little water to the bottom and made a sauce. I added some potatoes to the pan for the last hour and they were wonderful, but I was really looking for a sauce to put over the pork roast when we ate it. These flavors were soooooo good, I wanted more! Thanks for a great recipe! Even our Miss Picky 2 year old ate it! UPDATE - 10/18/06 Made it again with a little water in the bottom (about 1/3 c) and put a can of whole potatoes in the same pan to roast. The water helped to make a little sauce that was DIVINE on the potoates and the meat. Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, goooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This was sooo easy and sooo good! Based on previous reviews a) used 1 tsp pepper but might increase to 1 Tblsp next time, b) added water to cover bottom of pan and that was a great idea, c) covered pan after turning roast over. Came out wonderfully moist and tender. Wanted lots of sauce so diluted about 1 Tblsp cornstarch in 1/2 cup water, added to drippings and boiled. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Five Star Plus - I used the exact amts stated for the sauce - will use a little less pepper next time. I also put slivers of garlic into the slits before I brushed on the sauce. I cooked it for 20 min. at 400 degrees, added water to cover the bottom of pan as others suggested (it keeps the roast moist), lowered temp to 350 and cooked it approx. another 60 min. basting frequently and adding water as needed. I saw no need to turn the roast over. There was a nice amount of pan gravy to use over mashed potatoes. We really enjoyed the flavor! Thanks submitter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was an unbelievably moist and tasty roast. The unique honey/mustard/pepper marinade made it very flavorful. I, like many others, cut back on the pepper. I used only 2t which was quite pungent enough for my family. I cooked mine covered for two hours, then uncovered for one more hour. Three hours at 300 degrees was perfect for a 3.25lb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
So good, I didnt have a roast so used chops and grilled they were so tender, juicy, and so flavorful. Will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Pork loins were on sale this week, so I needed a recipe, I cooked two loins about .75kg each (l & 1/2lbs)in a roaster, no lid and a tad of water on the bottom. I included pepper, but not nearly the amount called for in the recipe. Could'nt find thyme in the house so I used an Italian Seasoning which had thyme in it. This roast was juicy and delicious. Don't forget to make a pork gravy to go with it. I will make it again, and would definetly make it for a dinner guests. All the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
We really liked this, but it wasn't as tender as I hoped-probably my fault.The sauce was to die for. I used more mustard, less honey, less pepper and thickened it up. Will make again and might try an oven bag when cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Fabulous recipe! I served this with sweet potatos and green beans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States