Spicy Honey Mustard Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I took the advice of others and added some water to the bottom of the pan other than that I followed the recipe it turned out good. It was flavorful, tender and juicy. I like pepper, so not too peppery for me but I can see how it would be for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Made this using a 2 lb. roast and as other reviewers suggested I added some water to the pan, cut the pepper back to 1 t., used fresh rosemary rather than the dried thyme and added a couple of cloves of fresh garlic, minced. I didn’t cut any slits and didn’t turn the roast. I also roasted this at 350 degrees to an internal temperature of 155. If you roast this to 170, it’s bound to be dry and probably tough. Remember that the temperature will continue to rise once out of the oven and standing for 15 minutes. My roast was still moist without a hint of pink (which wouldn’t have been bad for us). The au jus created by the honey mustard and water was very good drizzled over the pork when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The flavor was there, but let me give you some advice and line your baking dish with foil. The sauce will ruin the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was very good and a great go to dish on vacation. I cut back on the pepper and didn't add the thyme, but also added a little horseradish. It gave it a nice kick. I also put water in the pan. Very moist pork though. Will keep it and maybe tweak the mustard and pepper to give it a little bolder flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWFoodie
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I've never had a pork roast seasoned with honey and mustard so I wasn't quite sure what to expect but I was anxious to give it a try. What I DID know was that I don't like sweet on meat, so I immediately knew I'd have to reduce the honey to 2 T., which worked out well for me. I added about a tablespoon of whole grain mustard along with the Dijon to give the rub more complexity, but that certainly wasn't a necessary addition. Whether you'd use freshly cracked pepper or just regular ground pepper, 2 T. is excessive, so I just gave it several grinds of the pepper mill, to taste, as well as some salt. As a matter of personal preference I used fresh chopped rosemary, about a tablespoon, rather than thyme, as well as 2 cloves of garlic, minced. This rub was gorgeous and I hoped it was a sign that this roast was really going to be good. Since pork is now so lean, I didn't want to risk it drying out in the oven so I wrapped three strips of bacon around it which also gave it great flavor and was a wonderful contribution to the pan gravy I made from the drippings. Finally, I felt more comfortable with a higher roasting temperature, so into the oven at 350 degrees it went, for about an hour and twenty minutes - no slits, no turning, no brushing with more of the honey-mustard mixture. It was perfectly done, moist and tender - but you've got to like "what's on it," as Hubs put it. I did, he did not. Except for 2 T. of pepper (!) this is a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It is fantastic wen you find a recipe that the whole family, even picky eaters, will love.....this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good recipe, and leftovers tasted even better the next day. A little sweet for my tastes but my husband loved it. I might up the mustard and reduce the honey next time, because this definitely is not a "spicy" recipe. It is a must to add just a little water at the bottom, but I overdid this and my sauce wasn't as thick as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Far too much pepper; my husband & I trimmed off the outside because we just couldn't eat it. The inside, however, was juicy & tender, very good indeed. Next time I make it I will reduce the pepper to about a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This Pork Roast is delicious. I made this for my boyfriend twice now and each time he says how wonderful it is. I do think I will add slightly less pepper the next time I make it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I used a 4 1/2 Boneless Pork Loin Roast, put the Honey Mustard mix on the night before so all the flavors married together. I wrapped in bacon and roasted for 1 hour on a wire rack in a roasting pan. I then covered with foil and roasted for another hour and a half. It was super moist and tender, with plenty of tasty drippings for gravy. Served with mashed potatoes with the gravy. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States