Spicy Ham and Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This procedure is okay. I prefer to place the ham in the skillet to heat it through first. Then build the sandwich as decribed and grill. By heating the ham first you guarantee that your ham will be nice and toasty warm along with the melted cheese and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was a great idea and was a nice simple change up from a plain hot grilled sandwich. The ham wasn't really warm though in the middle although the outsides were toasty and the cheese was melted. I didn't care for the flavor of the peppers because it was "too green" and that's just a personal thing. Maybe if I had used a roasted chile pepper I would have liked this better? The recipe is fine, the green taste was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great grilled cheese. I had a chopped serrano chile pepper that I needed to use up, glad that I choose this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
EXCELLENT! I used white bread and jalapeno peppers because that's what I had on hand. In addition to the swiss and ham I also added some cheddar. I baked these in the oven using the 'Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwich' recipe from here-PERFECT! I will be making these again for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
THis is a personal favorite of mine when i was younger, for mine i like to add crisp bacon and i dont always use rye bread just plain white bread works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Yummm. I don't like Swiss cheese much, so I use Cheddar. Excellent sandwich, one of my favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pringles9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Tasty but a little boring. I think it's the Swiss cheese in this. Any other cheese would have probably been better, like cheddar, havarti, or pepper jack. This was a nice quick lunch though and I thank you for the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Instead of a green chili,I added a few drops of Sriracha on top of a thin layer of mayo to the inside of the sandwich for a little kick and served it with red grapes to put out the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used canned roasted green chili peppers, and White American cheese since that is all I had in stock. We really liked these with the addition of the green chilies. I did warm my ham and chilies a bit in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States