Spicy Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I rarely give bad reviews but feel i need to here :( After reviewing i decided to use more lime juice, ended up using the zest and juice of 2 limes plus some more (2 tbsp) bottled lime juice. Used about 2 tsp hot pepper flakes, 3 cloves garlic AND marinated for 8 hours. Spicy? yes that part was fine but i had absolutely no taste of lime..maybe a slight hint but not at all what i was hoping for. Very plain tasting. I ended up dipping my chicken in my salad dressing just for some flavour. 6 chicken breasts aren't that cheap so i would definintely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Good flavorful and easy marinade! Marinated boneless chicken breasts for about 7 hours (flipping halfway) and grilled. Could have been a bit spicier so next time I will ad a pinch more red pepper. I also did not add the lime zest, and used Italian seasoning instead of just oregano which I think added more flavor. Will make again. Wanted to add that I made it a second time with a bit more pepper but still no zest. Marinated over 24 hours and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Substituted plenty of fresh cilantro for the oregano and marinated 24 hours. Originally thought the recipe was fair. It smelled great but even with the extended marinading, the lime flavor was milder than I like. Surprisingly, it was not all that spicy -- even with the addition of a little more red pepper and a few dashes of Tabasco; however... the next day I made a grilled quesadillas from the left over chicken breast. It was absolutely fantastic. Shredded chicken between two flower tortillas. Covered with shredded mild cheddar, a little chopped fresh cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime. Sprayed tortillas with Canola and grilled till the cheese was melted. Served with sour cream and salsa but honestly they didn't need anything ... other a cold Corona with lime. Perfect summer lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This was very tasty. I didn't have breasts on hand so I did thighs and legs. I removed the skin from the thighs before marinating. I baked the chicken for about 1/2 hour at 350 and then grilled it to finish it off. It was very moist and delicious. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
By far and away one of our favorite marinades so far. However, we ended up marinating the chicken for a day and a half instead of one hour due to a medical emergency in the family. Family member ended up being just fine. We came home grill the chicken and discovered it was one of the best meals we ever had. Used 8 boneless skinless chicken thighs as that is what I had on hand at the time, increased the lime juice to use the whole lime, 4 cloves garlic and at least a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes maybe more. So very good... the family is already asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is one of my family's favorite chicken recipes. The chicken is so tender. I really like the citrus flavor. To make it a little healthier I use olive oil. I also add more red pepper flakes for added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Perfectly spicy. I used the marinade on chicken tenders and broiled them in the oven for about 12-15 mins, turning once. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Fantastic! I doubled the lime juice and garlic, and let it marinate for an extra half hour or so, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Not to take anything away from this marinade, because it was ok, but I have had a bit more favorable results when I added McCormick spices to this instead of just the regular red pepper flakes. When I made this the first time my taste buds just seemed to yearn for something more, so I tried adding the spices and my family and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Yummy!!! My kids all loved this chicken - will definitely make again. Also, I used the leftovers to make Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad from this site and the salad was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States