Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We didn't enjoy this recipe. Cabbage may need a lot more time to cook and there is far too much red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Lovely dish with incredible sauce. The boyfriend cleaned the plate! Only suggestion is to tone down amount of red pepper flakes just a tad so you can fully enjoy the other flavours. This is a keeper and pretty to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This dish lacked flavor tremendously. I tried preparing dish to specs and was very disappointed. I prepared the dish with some modifications. I shredded the cabbage, add yellow onion; cut julienne style. Heat wok, add peanut oil. When hot add shredded cabbage, onion, Chinese Five Flavor, and Mushroom Flavored Dark Soy Sauce by: Lee Kum Kee. Placed on plate. Heated the remaining peanut oil, place garlic, shrimps, onion, added Chinese Five Season, Oyster Sauce (to taste) , and 1 ½ tbsp. dumpling sauce, and crush red pepper. (to taste) Stir until all ingredients are saturated with sauce. (Don’t overcook shrimps) Serve over cabbage. Great Meal!! Plenty of Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Allen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor on this was good, but I found it to be way too oily. If I make it again I'll cut the oil significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Yummy! I didn't think it would have enough flavor, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was easy to prepare and tasted great. I used a whole head/bunch of napa cabbage and 1/2 dozen shrimp. Served over rice and it was enough for DH and I to have leftovers. I wouldn't recommend making more than you will eat at one setting because I don't think this is a good leftovers type of dish. I added in powdered ginger and peanut oil to the cabbage and it was delicious. Also it is important to add water to the shrimp when cooking to ensure they remain juicy and succulent. I like others didn't use as much red pepper as called for in the recipe, but I did let DH sprinkle in the amount he preferred while I cooked. He really likes red pepper and still he didn't reach the 2 teaspoons called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalgaryJosie
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Scaled up to 4 servings, so I used a 1 lb bag of shrimp, a whole onion and a small head of cabbage. Added ginger and carrots, left out the cilantro. This was quick, easy, and healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
RARELY do I give not only 5 stars to a recipe but to add a recipe to my "family's" recipe book at home; yeah this one did it. Delicicious! I doubled everything of course; I threw everything together and sauteed it and it was THAT simple. Served over rice and wallah! Dinner's served! Thanks for posting. (EDIT-so I asked my hubby about this dish and he was SO MAD AT ME NOW for not making more, because he wants a ton it of it now, ALL DAY EVERY DAY as he says; really? Yeah same palate and thought process) EDIT: I made this last night and making it again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I altered the recipe for four servings. I substituted the veggie oil with olive oil and reduced the amount to four tablespoons. I added two tablespoons of fresh minced ginger which I added with the garlic during cooking. As suggested by another, I added some frozen mixed veggies-broc, caul, carrots, snow peas. I steamed them in their bag in the microwave and added them at the end. I also reduced the red peppers to one teaspoon. My hubby added more peppers to his plate as desired. Also served with a side of long grained brown rice. A meal we will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States