Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This recipe is amazing! The only 2 things I did differently were, I added some fresh minced ginger (approximately 1 1/2 tsp. But I would add more next time) and I had a bag of precut broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, which I microwaved and threw in there at the end. I didn't have any red pepper flakes in my cupboard, but found some packets of red pepper flakes that we got from a pizza joint and poured those in there! Gotta improvise sometimes! Also, after we had eaten our dinner, my husband said that next time I should add some peanuts!Thanks for this delicous low carb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was great!! I used the shredded coleslaw cabbage in the salad section to save some time. I did add some freshly ground black pepper, some sliced carrots, sliced celery, and sliced water chestnuts, and served with Lumpia (Filipino Egg Rolls). Thanks for the great recipe, Jim! (Update 11/25/06)- I made this tonight, and added some minced ginger (along with the other ingredients I added) for a change of pace. It was WONDERFUL...I also served it with steamed rice. This is one of my favorite recipes on allrecipes.com...thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Awesome, My husband and I love this. I chop up the shrimp into small pieces and use the cabbage as wraps instead of using it in the dish. I just put the mixture in a bowl and scoop on to the cabbage leaves like you would making tacos. mmmmmmm...good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
LOVED this one! It was spicy and delicious!!! I altered the serving amount to 4 rather than just 1, as the recipe states. Served it over the stir fried cabbage and it was outstanding! I used sesame oil to saute the cabbage, and I added a bunch of chopped green onions in with the shrimp. YUM!!! This one's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Really really good.....I sub the cabbage with frozen whole greenbeans and used frozen shrimp...I also added more pepper and wow, what a kick.....I made some white rice and topped it with the shrimp and green beans, yummy, better than anything you could get out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirls8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Our level of heat tolerance in this house lies somewhere between “coward” and “wimp.” So I’ll start by saying that our Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp wasn’t nearly as spicy or peppery as the submitter intended as I cut waaay back on the red pepper flakes (ok, I hardly used any at all). I have made this in the past using packaged coleslaw mix but this time I used some napa cabbage I had on hand. Hard to say which I liked better! The coleslaw mix obviously has a stronger flavor, but I did like the tenderness and lightness of the napa cabbage. I used red onion for a spark of color and even threw in a little radicchio which also contributed interest and color. I love this stuff – it’s a nutritious, fantastic meal you can put on the table in minutes – so make sure you start your rice in advance! Four stars rather than five only because I think the amount of crushed red pepper flakes is excessive, not just for the heat factor but because it may detract from, rather than enhance, the flavors of the shrimp and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Delicious! I have been doing the low carb thing so this was the perfect thing. I used sirloin, sliced thin. And I added some red bell pepper strips and some italian hot pepper strips. I wasn't sure how stir fried cabbage would be but it was really good. Also, I decreased the oil to 1 1/2 tablespoons, and I used half sesame oil half vegetable oil. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Made this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
We do not eat seafood so we substituted pork tenderloin and this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This recipe was fabulous. I drastically reduced the amount of oil, and it was healthy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States