Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is an excellent, fast and simple stir-fry and the cilantro really puts it over the top. To make it healthier, cut the oil in 1/2 at least. You can use whatever protein & veggies you like too, as long as you keep the oil/garlic/red pepper flakes/sliced onion/cilantro/soy sauce you will have a tasty dish. I doubled the recipe but not the oil and I forgot to add the water. I used orange pepper, mushrooms, broccoli and cauliflower and served over brown rice with steamed edamame on the side. We could have used a little more spice and will add next time, but we are used to spicy Thai food. Ginger, lime juice, sesame oil - all good ideas. ***Update: I ate the leftovers 2 days after I made this for dinner. Don't know what happened because I loved it the day it was made, but the leftovers were hardly edible. Next time we won't leave any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was edible, but that's about all I can say. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I regularly make this recipe..it is good. I add vegetables and sometimes use tofu instead of shrimp. It is good with some peanuts as well. A staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
We loved the flavor although I added way too much red pepper because I was making more than one serving. Even with the added hot, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laquey, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was so yummmmmy! I madeit for my husband and he loved it. It was a little spicier than he liked but he licked the plate clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I used the advice of a previous reviewer and instead of using cabbage, I used green beans and white rice. The recipe was a little spicy but good - I used small, baby shrimp - next time I think I would use the large shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
use 1/2 the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This recipe is SO good! I didn't have crushed red pepper, so I substituted it with cayenne pepper, but it came out so good. Nice spicy after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I find this not quite filling enough for an actual meal, but I love using this dish for a warm salad appetizer. The flavors marinate so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States