Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
My husband really liked this but I found it so hot that it was practically inedible. I chose it mostly for it's low calorie count and the fact that it had cilantro, which I love. I think the red pepper flakes overpower the other flavors in this recipe. I liked it but was hoping for more cilantro flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Our level of heat tolerance in this house lies somewhere between “coward” and “wimp.” So I’ll start by saying that our Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp wasn’t nearly as spicy or peppery as the submitter intended as I cut waaay back on the red pepper flakes (ok, I hardly used any at all). I have made this in the past using packaged coleslaw mix but this time I used some napa cabbage I had on hand. Hard to say which I liked better! The coleslaw mix obviously has a stronger flavor, but I did like the tenderness and lightness of the napa cabbage. I used red onion for a spark of color and even threw in a little radicchio which also contributed interest and color. I love this stuff – it’s a nutritious, fantastic meal you can put on the table in minutes – so make sure you start your rice in advance! Four stars rather than five only because I think the amount of crushed red pepper flakes is excessive, not just for the heat factor but because it may detract from, rather than enhance, the flavors of the shrimp and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was just okay. I gave it 4 stars because my husband liked it, but I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is very good! I doubled everything in the recipe except for the oil. Be warned, it is VERY SPICY! We love spicy, but it was a little over the top. It was so good though! My husband drank tons of water in between bites and finished the entire plate, and wanted more! I'm making this again tonight, but this time, I'm using a pound of shrimp (16 was not enough for the both of us), an entire bag of cabbage shreds, a couple dashes of red pepper, and 4x the garlic, onion, cilantro, and soy sauce. I served it with white rice and it was delicious. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
YUM. We used thick sirloin and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Phenomonal!!! Tasted great. It only calls for 1 serving so I used a pound of small shrimp and just kinda went from there adding more. Felt better having it over a veggie instead of rice or pasta. I definitely recommend trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpinkprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. This really hit the spot! I love spicy food. I love good food! Wish I had made a double batch! Might make it again tomorrow. I love the the other ideas. String beans instead of cabbage. Lettuce Wraps. Bok Choy. Pork instead of shrimp..... Yum! The possibilities are endless!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe, but be warned that it is very hot. I scaled the portion size to four, which would have been 2.5 tablespoons of red pepper flakes. I thought that sounded like too much so I cooked it with only 1 tablespoon. That was more than enough! Next time I make this, because it was good other than being a little too hot, I will use 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper flakes for 4 servings. Other modifications: I cut way back on the vegetable oil, used an entire head of cabbage and 1lb shrimp for 4 servings, left out the cilantro (didn't have any on hand), and garnished it with green onion and toasted sesame seeds. Peanuts would make a great garnish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! We cut back a little bit on the red pepper and it was perfectly spicy. We would let the cabbage cook just a tad longer next time. Would definitely recommend :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaysen and Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
The husband just voted this a keeper. Made it as directed except.....doubled the cabbage and onions and sauteed the onion with the shrimp and garlic to soften. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States