Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is very good! I doubled everything in the recipe except for the oil. Be warned, it is VERY SPICY! We love spicy, but it was a little over the top. It was so good though! My husband drank tons of water in between bites and finished the entire plate, and wanted more! I'm making this again tonight, but this time, I'm using a pound of shrimp (16 was not enough for the both of us), an entire bag of cabbage shreds, a couple dashes of red pepper, and 4x the garlic, onion, cilantro, and soy sauce. I served it with white rice and it was delicious. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
YUM. We used thick sirloin and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Phenomonal!!! Tasted great. It only calls for 1 serving so I used a pound of small shrimp and just kinda went from there adding more. Felt better having it over a veggie instead of rice or pasta. I definitely recommend trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpinkprincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. This really hit the spot! I love spicy food. I love good food! Wish I had made a double batch! Might make it again tomorrow. I love the the other ideas. String beans instead of cabbage. Lettuce Wraps. Bok Choy. Pork instead of shrimp..... Yum! The possibilities are endless!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We enjoyed this recipe, but be warned that it is very hot. I scaled the portion size to four, which would have been 2.5 tablespoons of red pepper flakes. I thought that sounded like too much so I cooked it with only 1 tablespoon. That was more than enough! Next time I make this, because it was good other than being a little too hot, I will use 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper flakes for 4 servings. Other modifications: I cut way back on the vegetable oil, used an entire head of cabbage and 1lb shrimp for 4 servings, left out the cilantro (didn't have any on hand), and garnished it with green onion and toasted sesame seeds. Peanuts would make a great garnish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! We cut back a little bit on the red pepper and it was perfectly spicy. We would let the cabbage cook just a tad longer next time. Would definitely recommend :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaysen and Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
The husband just voted this a keeper. Made it as directed except.....doubled the cabbage and onions and sauteed the onion with the shrimp and garlic to soften. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Fantastic! I cooked it as the recipe stated. Wonderful!! Wouldn't change a thing. Be careful when cooking the cabbage, as it overcooks very easily. Take it off within 30 seconds and stir continuously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I thought this was great! Easy and healthy! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is an excellent, fast and simple stir-fry and the cilantro really puts it over the top. To make it healthier, cut the oil in 1/2 at least. You can use whatever protein & veggies you like too, as long as you keep the oil/garlic/red pepper flakes/sliced onion/cilantro/soy sauce you will have a tasty dish. I doubled the recipe but not the oil and I forgot to add the water. I used orange pepper, mushrooms, broccoli and cauliflower and served over brown rice with steamed edamame on the side. We could have used a little more spice and will add next time, but we are used to spicy Thai food. Ginger, lime juice, sesame oil - all good ideas. ***Update: I ate the leftovers 2 days after I made this for dinner. Don't know what happened because I loved it the day it was made, but the leftovers were hardly edible. Next time we won't leave any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States