Spicy Fruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Like the other reviews noted, this does turn out watery. I remedied that by placing the salsa into a colander lined with paper towels for about 20 minutes, and it was perfect. Since the other reviews noted that this is super spicy, I cut the cayenne and habanero sauce both in half, and it was still plenty spicy. I also added a teaspoon of salt, and I think it needs a little more of a zesty lime flavor - like maybe some grated lime peel or something along the lines of the lime chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really wasnt sure about the spicy mixed with fruit but it was incredible. I am going to use it with a chicken dish next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Wonderful! I have used mango jam and pepper jelly and both turned out so very tasty. A few small preference changes. I used apricots instead of Kiwi to please my husband and I used fuji apples because I read somewhere they dont brown as easy. I also chose to use honey instead of sugar once and it was great. I paired this with homemade cinnamon tortilla chips. It makes a great pic nic item. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made this for a 4th of July party. Instead of the black berries I used blueberries. Not only did it make the recipe red white and blue, they were alot cheaper than the blackberries because they were in season. I only used 1 and 1/4 tablespoons of habenero sauce, and only 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. It had just the right amount of kick. I can't imagine how hot it would be if made it as it is called for. Sweet, spicy, and refreshing for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pingaling
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
A fresh and fruity alternative to regular salsa for eating with tortilla chips. After reading the other reviews I started with only half the cayenne and hot sauce, and then added a bit more to my taste. I used Golden Delicious and Macintosh apples, and red salsa since that's what I had on hand and it was still yummy. Definitely allow more time than 15 min. for all the chopping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pingaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Ohhh it burns so good! I found this recipe a few years ago, and my family has been begging for me to make it again. It's yummy. Don't think of it as chunky salsa. Think of it as a sauce with spicy sweetness, that puts a twist on the style of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Quite an unusual salsa and spicy enough even when only using half of the hot sauce and cayenne pepper. Delicious served with lime tostido chips. I did not add all the "liquid ingredients" (jelly, green salsa, hot sauce) to avoid the salsa being "too runny". Chopping and assembling ingredients take way longer than 15 minutes prep time and served way more than 12. I ended up freezing half. Would I make it again~~YES! It is yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
LOVED THE SPICY SWEET TASTE. I ALSO CUT BACK THE HOT SAUCE, BUT LEFT ALOT OF BITE STILL TO THE RECIPE. GOT RAVE REVIEWS FROM FRIENDS AND COWORKERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
It is a nice salsa but not for a Mexican one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
so gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States