Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Incredible, fantastic, excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I sauteed thawed frozen spinach with the carrots. Left out the parsley. With swordfish I added a chunky marinara mix. I dont eat fish often as I cant seem to cook it. This was fantastic. I will make again and again I'm sure. Wonderful recipe and very flexible for changes although I'm sure even if you made it to the exact recipe it would be great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This pie is excellent, I have made so many times. A friend who came for lunch loved it and then told me he didn't like fish. I sprinkle some of the cheese on before I put the potatoes on, I also don't use as much cheese as called for. Thank you soooo much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Its so good on time and ingrediants, My husband raved about it the whole time during dinner. I loved this because it doesnt take too long and I can use that extra time watching my 2 month old. I added some spinach to the vegetables for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Great way to get the kids to eat fish...my son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I'm not much of a fish fan; I used cod and talapia. I also used cayenne pepper (1/4 to 1/2 t) which really spiced it up! I found out at the last minute that I didn't have any cream, so I mixed in a can of cream of celery soup after browning the onions, and it was just awesome! We will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONNYBABY
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Made this last night and it was delicious. My 5-yr-old son found it too spicy though and ended up eating toast for dinner. I used 3 smoked cod fillets, plus I added about 250g of chopped spinach, which really did help. I left out the parsley as I didn't think it needed it. It was still fairly runny after baking for 45 minutes, but not sloppy. In response to one of the other reviewers whose husband didn't like mash on top... I only semi-mashed the potatoes so it wasn't 'sloppy' and it was a good texture that resulted. I think you could add a lot of great things to this recipe and really adapt it to suit your own tastes. My husband suggested kumara...!? Thanks for this beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNYBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentley, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
this recipe is fantastic. Unstoppable. The color of the carrot, onions, and parsley mixed with the cream is beautiful. You will want to eat the sauce. I used tilapia with mine, and I added a lot more chili powder and salt. My taste.. It bakes up wonderfully with the cheese and mashed potatoes. Congradulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. Next time will make more so that I can freeze it for easy cooking. I used jack cheese on top and it came out SO GOOD!! I will try Gruyere next time and might add some thyme for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe was more than just a keeper. My wife and I were oohing and aahing with the first few bites. It's truly outstanding. I stayed with the recipe but added a little more of some things. First and foremost, I used a whole pound of cod. I used a large onion rather than a medium. I used two carrots rather than one. I poured in the cup of cream and then added enough more until it "looked right." It smelled wonderful in the oven and tasted even better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States