Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I'm not much of a fish fan; I used cod and talapia. I also used cayenne pepper (1/4 to 1/2 t) which really spiced it up! I found out at the last minute that I didn't have any cream, so I mixed in a can of cream of celery soup after browning the onions, and it was just awesome! We will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
to make this dish low carb friendly, simply substitute brown rice for the potatoes. YOu can also substitute shrimp for the fish if you'd like, or use both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This pie is excellent, I have made so many times. A friend who came for lunch loved it and then told me he didn't like fish. I sprinkle some of the cheese on before I put the potatoes on, I also don't use as much cheese as called for. Thank you soooo much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Super yummy! Everyone ate it up. I added spinach, peas and 2 cloves of garlic, and also subbed a very small amount of grated parmesan for the cheddar, and red pepper flakes & paprika for the chili powder. I made the potatoes very dry so mine was not soupy in the least. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I sauteed thawed frozen spinach with the carrots. Left out the parsley. With swordfish I added a chunky marinara mix. I dont eat fish often as I cant seem to cook it. This was fantastic. I will make again and again I'm sure. Wonderful recipe and very flexible for changes although I'm sure even if you made it to the exact recipe it would be great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great. I added more fish and fewer potatoes. Also, used FF half and half and you couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
this is very good. granddaugher said 5 stars, hubby said it was good, but too many potatoes. i liked it because it was different and was a good way to get fish in our diets. i did listen to other reviewers and used more spice (old bay). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I did this exactly as the recipe called for and my family thought it was good. They didn't rave but they ate it all and didn't complain. Also easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I'm no fan of fish at all but I quite enjoyed this. I used 6oz cod and 6oz sole - I wish I'd used all cod because the sole had a really strange spongey texture. I used slightly less parsley too as we aren't that keen on it. Nice, easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The leftovers were the best part where the somewhat wet top got all dense and potatoey (is that a real word?). I did sprinkle the fish (Tilapia) with seafood seasoning, mixed some cheese into the sauce, used paprika instead of chili (feeding wee ones), and added garlic pepper to the potatoes. Without the spice additions, I could see how it would be veeeery bland. So my suggestion, season every layer to taste and you have a wonderful dish that makes GREAT leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mynattygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States