Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I incorporated just about every suggestion from the comments and it came out delicious. It would be a 5 star if the recipe included all those suggestions. To wit: I used 1 lb of fish (rubbed some olive oil, salt and pepper on it) and 2 1/2 lbs of potatoes, added peas and an extra carrot, used less cheese than the recipe called for, added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I also didn't have heavy cream, so I ended up using 1/2 cup of half-and-half and 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was nice and flavorful, but I certainly wouldn't call it spicy. To help with texture, I coarse-mashed about 2/3 of the potatoes (yukon gold, left the skins on), layered that on the fish and vegetables, then sprinkled the cheese over that, and riced the remaining third of the potatoes (obviously, you need a ricer for that) over everything. When it came out of the oven (30 minutes at 400), the riced potatoes on the top were golden and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
great recipe. perhaps being a bit more liberal with the spices (cayenne, salt, pepper and add some minced garlic) will make it more tasty. I've done this recipe with both cod and a combo of tilapia/shrimp. I would suggest seasoning the seafood with salt/pepper/olive oil to bring out the flavor of the seafood, which can get lost in the potatoes and veggie mixture. give this one a try - it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I ran across this recipe after having my first Fisherman's Pie in Ireland this past fall (the same recipe concept but slightly different because it was made with mainly cod, a couple pieces of salmon and a few shrimp. I have made this recipe several times using various fish including catfish, hallibut, talapia (really any preferred white fish is fine). After making the recipe as directed the first time, I found a little tweeking (added preferred seasonings to family taste) it really is a great recipe. It works well with additional preferred ingredients such as sliced fresh mushrooms, chopped onion, etc. To save time, I use the Country Crock Homestyle Mash Potatoes (these are real potatoes and are a quick fix (5 mins) in microwave. I also prepare in small individual casserole dishes for easy serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
That recipe was really good. I have nothing bad to say about although I do have one recommendation, replace Cheddar cheese with Feta. For one, it's healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Coming from a non-fish lover, I thought is was a decent meal. A tad on the bland side (not sure where the spicy part came in). I felt like the sauce should have been thicker (maybe next time make a roux and thicken it?) and more flavor added to the entire thing. However, it was a good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
We enjoyed this recipie. We tend to like our food a little on the spicer side, so I will add more chili powder next time. It would be a great fish dish for those who are not so found of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Not a big hit with the family, it was mushy and no spice. I wish I would have strayed from the recipe and done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Prince

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Forestville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was fairly bland. The fish gets lost in all the potatoes. If I made it again, I'd halve the potatoes and put the cheese on before the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am not a fish fan but I enjoyed this. I have to get some fish into the diet and I found this was warm & tasty. It was almost more soupy than a pie, so we scooped and served in bowls with rolls. I added some garlic powder and salt, and used basa filets. we like spicy so we topped with a little tabasco. thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was very good! I only made a couple of adjustments. Taking a tip from another reviewer, I added broccoli. I used White Ruffy fish (very mild) and instead of adding milk to the potatoes, I added about 1/4 cup of the heavy cream. I have to agree with others that it did not have much flavor. I ended up adding some kosher salt and seasoning salt. Would defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States