Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly; the only thing I would change would be to double the amount of fish. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Husband loved this. Very tasty and filling. I used snapper and prawns....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yum!! This was delicious! I can't give it 5 stars though b/c without adjusting the seasonings it would be pretty bland. I seasoned the fish w/ salt and pepper and increased the chili pwdr to 1/2 t and it still needed additional salt and pepper after it came out of the oven. I also added about 3/4 c of frozen peas and doubled the carrots. Took others' advice on the potatoes (used 2 lbs) and only 4 oz of cheese. This will definitely be going into our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
this is very good. granddaugher said 5 stars, hubby said it was good, but too many potatoes. i liked it because it was different and was a good way to get fish in our diets. i did listen to other reviewers and used more spice (old bay). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was an easy and delicious recipe. My 13 year old son and his friend made it, because I was sick, and it came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My 5 kids said to give this one "ten stars". I can not remember the last time a meal got such RAVE reviews. There were no leftovers! Followed the recipe exactly, it is perfect just the way it is! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The leftovers were the best part where the somewhat wet top got all dense and potatoey (is that a real word?). I did sprinkle the fish (Tilapia) with seafood seasoning, mixed some cheese into the sauce, used paprika instead of chili (feeding wee ones), and added garlic pepper to the potatoes. Without the spice additions, I could see how it would be veeeery bland. So my suggestion, season every layer to taste and you have a wonderful dish that makes GREAT leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Nelson-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I incorporated just about every suggestion from the comments and it came out delicious. It would be a 5 star if the recipe included all those suggestions. To wit: I used 1 lb of fish (rubbed some olive oil, salt and pepper on it) and 2 1/2 lbs of potatoes, added peas and an extra carrot, used less cheese than the recipe called for, added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I also didn't have heavy cream, so I ended up using 1/2 cup of half-and-half and 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was nice and flavorful, but I certainly wouldn't call it spicy. To help with texture, I coarse-mashed about 2/3 of the potatoes (yukon gold, left the skins on), layered that on the fish and vegetables, then sprinkled the cheese over that, and riced the remaining third of the potatoes (obviously, you need a ricer for that) over everything. When it came out of the oven (30 minutes at 400), the riced potatoes on the top were golden and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
great recipe. perhaps being a bit more liberal with the spices (cayenne, salt, pepper and add some minced garlic) will make it more tasty. I've done this recipe with both cod and a combo of tilapia/shrimp. I would suggest seasoning the seafood with salt/pepper/olive oil to bring out the flavor of the seafood, which can get lost in the potatoes and veggie mixture. give this one a try - it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States