Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I happened to have every single ingredient in the house except for the yogurt, but I made it anyway. Oh my goodness, this soup was WONDERFUL! I can guarantee I will be making this soup often. It reminds me of my grandmother, who was from interior Mexico. My cooking this dish would have made her proud! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was looking for a good, low fat, fish soup and LOVE this one! I made a couple of tweaks (I don't eat shellfish so only used cod, used veg broth instead of chicken, red bell pepper instead of green and used fire roasted tomatoes, and added so chipotle chili pepper for heat and flavor). The heat and the cumin flavor make this soup fabulous and I never would have put all of these flavors together with cod, so hats off to the recipe creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is wonderful. I omitted the diced chili peppers and used diced jalapenos (we like everything really "kicked up"). And I used canned diced tomatoes with chili's instead of plain tomatoes. I also added some Emeril's Southwest Essence, and lots of Cajum Seasoning. This is surely a keeper around here!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Wow is this good!! I made it with cod only since I didn't have shrimp. I used one can of Rotel and one can diced tomatoes since I did not have the chiles and the rest the same as written. It was great my 11 and 12 yr old daughters LOVED it. It is only 3 pts on the new WW program too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! If you are on a healthy heart regimine, you have got to try this soup. I added another can of chicken broth along with grated carrots and barley. Don't be afraid to experiment with this. I will be making this often (and in larger quantities)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful wonderful recipe. I changed it a bit by adding a tea spoon of cajun seasoning and I used fresh fish (cooked it much longer than recomended with the bones, then took the bones out and returned chunks of meat back into the soup). Also, I used greek style yogurt. It is absolutelly deliscious and such a rich taste. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had this in New Orleans over St.Patricks weekend and had to try it at home. I love soups and this is now a favorite. I used bass fillets because that is what I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a fabulous, easy, & flavorful fish stew! I made a few changes for our preferences: added ½ cup chopped carrots, 1 celery stick chopped, ½ cup corn; subbed 2 fresh jalapenos for the green chilies, sub veggie stock for ckn stock, sub red bell pepper for green, used canned fire roasted diced tomatoes; added 1 tsp. old bay, pinch of Cajun seasoning, 1 extra clove of garlic. Used sour cream instead of yogurt (what I had on hand) and served it with lime wedge & avocado slices on top. Turned out spicy, delicious, and very filling! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is delicious! Followed the recipe pretty closely, but I doubled the amount of garlic. Didn't have a bell pepper but I think it's fine without it. My only problem was with the yogurt, I only had Greek yogurt so I used that and it did curdle, but I think it was my fault as I put it in the pot too fast. Next time I'll try to be more patient. I wouldn't leave it out though, I think the yogurt gives the soup its richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Simply awesome! The flavor is full and it doesn't taste "healthy." The yogurt gives it a nice richness both in taste and in color. I did make a couple alterations. I'm not fond of cod, so I substituted salmon. I also poured it over a handful of cooked rice. It is on the keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States