Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Looking for healthy foods for my husband, and this looked like a winner. I thought it was pretty tasty, but unfortunately, he didn't care for it. 3 stars is the average of both of our ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband really liked this recipe...my daughter went to bed hungry, but it really isn't a kid recipe. I thought it was good, but need something more. I added extra chiles and garlic, as well as substituting 1/2 the chicken broth for white wine. I served this over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
OK I am no expert so maybe the fact that the green chilis I used were pickled made a huge difference but this was waaaay toooo hot to eat. I added a full carton of yogurt and some white sugar and my mouth is still flaming. Before the insane heat hit me, I did like the flavor, but after four bites my eyes were watering and my boyfriend was begging for mercy. I will be avoiding spicy food for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Sorry but I did not care for this. It was just OK and will not be making this any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Yummy and perfectly light for a warm evening. Had to add some chopped jalapenos as the only chillis I can get have no bite. I strained the fish out of the leftovers and cooked penne in the soup. Stirred the fish back in, put it in a tuppaware and my husband was thrilled with his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
My husband and I LOVE this soup. It's great as-is but you can also play around by adding bell pepper, jalepenos, etc. It's also good with shredded chicken rather than fish. I think it's a great recipe - easy, quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This soup was very good ... the first day. I ate the leftovers 3 days later and it was terrible ... tasted like it came straight from a can (which some of the ingredents did). I used organic chicken broth from a carton and red bell pepper instead of green. You can't really taste the yogurt so don't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I accidently spilled the cumin into the soup so there was considerable more in mine than per the recipe. I ommitted the chile peppers, substituted scallops for the cod, and pureed a can of stewed tomates to add. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This soup was delicious! I did make some changes. Used olive oil instead of spray, added bay leaf & clam juice to the broth, used red & yellow peppers instead of green, doubled the shrimp and did not use yogurt. The soup was so pretty I couldn't see clouding it with yogurt and don't really like the taste of yogurt. Served sour cream on the side instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I had to vary the ingredients in this recipe slightly as I made it late a bank holiday evening where there's nothing more to resort to than what's already in the cupboards and fridge! I used yellow peppers instead of green, fromage frais instead of yoghurt and fish stock instead of chicken broth, but this is a very easy recipe and a very tasty and healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States