Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This soup was very good ... the first day. I ate the leftovers 3 days later and it was terrible ... tasted like it came straight from a can (which some of the ingredents did). I used organic chicken broth from a carton and red bell pepper instead of green. You can't really taste the yogurt so don't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I accidently spilled the cumin into the soup so there was considerable more in mine than per the recipe. I ommitted the chile peppers, substituted scallops for the cod, and pureed a can of stewed tomates to add. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This soup was delicious! I did make some changes. Used olive oil instead of spray, added bay leaf & clam juice to the broth, used red & yellow peppers instead of green, doubled the shrimp and did not use yogurt. The soup was so pretty I couldn't see clouding it with yogurt and don't really like the taste of yogurt. Served sour cream on the side instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I had to vary the ingredients in this recipe slightly as I made it late a bank holiday evening where there's nothing more to resort to than what's already in the cupboards and fridge! I used yellow peppers instead of green, fromage frais instead of yoghurt and fish stock instead of chicken broth, but this is a very easy recipe and a very tasty and healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This soup was really great. I am not a big tomatoe fan, so I used half potatoes, half tomatoes, excellent. No one else wanted fish soup...eck..so I ate the pot myself..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Very good. I followed one of the users tips about the halopenos - spicy is a must for me. I actually used fish stock instead of chicken - slightly fishier taste for those who like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This is spicy, true, but not hot, so I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles. I also added a little lime juice and chopped cilantro at the end. In all, though, this was only OK. It isn't a 'keeper' for me. I have other fish soups to try....Thank you, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a great soup. I used 1 lb of shrimp and skipped the fish. I did not have any chili powder so i used 1/2 tablespoon of old bay, and 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper still tasted great will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
What a great recipe! It's so simple and delicous--it only takes a few minutes to prepare and makes a filling and tasty soup. I like spicy foods and i found the original recipe was a little tame, but subbing fresh and canned jalepenos was too much! so the next time i make it i will add canned jalepenos and fresh green peppers--also this soup is awesome heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful wonderful recipe. I changed it a bit by adding a tea spoon of cajun seasoning and I used fresh fish (cooked it much longer than recomended with the bones, then took the bones out and returned chunks of meat back into the soup). Also, I used greek style yogurt. It is absolutelly deliscious and such a rich taste. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States