Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ben
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This soup was very good, and very spicy. I was looking for something to make with my cucumbers (other than pickles), and found this recipe. Unlike most of the other cucumber soups, this is hot and doesn't require sour cream. I recommend this recipe. Be careful when blending it, though, so it doesn't explode out of your blender and all over, making a mess or burning you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I'm really glad that I came across the recipe because it's become one of my favorite (and best) dishes! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Wow!!! This is good. I did not have the curry powder so I used corriandar. I did not use the cayenne. It would have been too spicy for my family. But WOW. I went to the garden and had 3 more cukes. I know I am doing with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This had a very good flavour, but it is very spicy. If you do not like spice, then you should cut the spices in half or more! Then you will be able to enjoy the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm absolutely in love with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is very good. I love spicy food but I have to admit that this is just a tad bit spicy for me. I will make again but I will go easy on the spice. I didn't have any sesame oil but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Lives up to it's name (SPIIICY!) I'll def. wanna make this more often, but twice the quantity. I added a dallop of sour cream to my bowl to calm my taste buds, and also garnished with parsley flakes. I subbed soy milk, and it was fine. This will clear your sinuses! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I doubled the recipe without doubling the spices and it will still pretty HOT! I had to add extra broth and milk, so decided to add some whole wheat angel hair pasta (broken up), and it turned out pretty good. Not sure I would make it again, but it was interesting, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent soup but half the spice if your feeding the average wife:) Very good with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great ideas to spice up cucumber soup. I skipped the red pepper flakes and used fresh tomatillos and two fresh serrano chili peppers instead for the heat. I also included 3 very small russet potatoes and had chix broth, not veggie broth. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States