Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was excellent. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made this w coconut rice. I cut the chicken into strips, marinated 4 hrs, served on skewers like satays, and it was AMAZING. So flavourful, tender, absolutely delicious. The salsa, too, was delicious -I added diced red pepper, corn, and a little bit of honey cuz my mango wasn't too sweet. But I kinda felt like each part was better on its own. The salsa overpowered the chicken, and the chicken muddied the flavour of the salsa. I will definately make both again, but not together. 5 stars and then some for each on its own, but not together. Oh! And I left the butter out, and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I have made this recipe three times now. When I made it the second time, I questioned the amount of butter in the sauce. When I made it the third time I omitted the butter entirely. It makes for a much healthier sauce. I served it with couscous and the results were pleasing. Otherwise I think it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
So so good. Served with mojitos rice and black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
the glaze and mango/avocado were the best part...not bad, but I don't intend to make this one a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe! My fiance loved it as well. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken, so I just sauteed it in the paste from the blender, and transfered it all to a baking dish. I also had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken, so I added a little cornstarch, and cut the butter in half. It turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Amazing! One of the best chicken dishes we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I absolutely never cook with fresh chicken because it kind of grosses me out. But...my husband is Cuban and i was looking for a healthy recipe - and wow - this is absolutely great! I agreed with the other reviewer about adding lime juice and cilantro to the salsa - lovely, try it you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I marinated the chicken for a day to give it extra flavor, and instead of just using plain mango and avocado chunks, I combined them with the juice of one lime and some fresh cilantro and parsley to make more of a "salsa." The chicken was moist and flavorful, the salsa was amazing, and the citrus sauce complimented it perfectly. I served this with some frozen corn seasoned with butter, salt, pepper, and dried thyme leaves. My fiancee called this meal "crazy tasty", which is his highest honor! I'll be making this one again soon. The only thing I'll change is that I'll probably add more red pepper to the marinade next time, as this wasn't 'spicy' at all, but other than that, I'd say it was pretty perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The chicken was okay. I let it marinate for 24 hours and the chicken didn't have big flavor. I thought the sauce had way to much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States