Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Best recipe ever! Thanks for sharing. I read previous reviews and learned it's not really spicy. So I added chopped jalapeno & red pepper in the salsa as well as lemon juice as one person suggested and sprinkle with freshly chopped parsley. And while cooking the sauce, I added one chilli to boil just to add a bit of spicy flavour. It turned out great! My husband loved it and can't stop saying 'There are so many things happening in this dish!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is a great summer meal. It was fresh and light. It's nice to cook something different for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My boyfriend and I made this together and although we really enjoyed the dish, I was hoping for something a little spicier. We will make it again but add more chili to the marinade. We did pair the dish with a mixture of black beans and corn with some pre-mixed cajun spices added to it and some garlicky fried plantains which really complimented the meal. overall it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I was expecing some heat to this recipe considering it is Cuban and was disappointed. All the heat is in the marinade. Next time, I will cook the chicken in the marinade and also put some chili pepper in the sauce that goes on top. Made as is, it is very bland. As stated by another user, I used coconut milk instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband and oldest son said this recipe was a keeper, but I made a few changes. Since we aren't fans of hot spicy, and have limited fresh produce available, I didn't use a fresh chili pepper. I lightly roasted a red bell and cut it in strips (I used ½ the pepper). I used fresh orange juice for both the marinade and sauce. For the first part, I combined the marinade and poured it over boneless breast and red pepper strips in the crock pot and cooked on low for about 8 hours. It came out perfect. I used lime juice instead of lemon juice, and lime juice instead of lime zest in the sauce. I didn't have unsalted butter, but left out 1/2 the salt in the marinade. I only had part of an avocado but had lots of mango. Since it was put on top for serving, I left the mango and avocado in separate dishes so my son that doesn't care for avocado could just use mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Spring City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I really enjoyed this chicken it was FULL of flavor one thing i did was I added cilantro to the mojo sauce to make it more flavorful and it added a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I thought that this was really fun. The chicken was nice and juicy. I felt it was a little bland the first time I made it, yes, I've made it twice. The second time I made it I decided to actually marinade the avocado and mango in lime juice for just a little while so that the avocado wouldn't turn brown. The lime added some nice flavor to the dish as well. I served it with black beans, jasmine rice, and LOTS of cilantro the second time around and it was a hit. We also had the Fire & Ice Salsa on the side - check that recipe out too. One really nice thing about this dish is that it is allergy friendly. I made it for people who had both lactose and gluten allergies and they could both eat it and liked it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wonderful, my kids loved it too. I didn't have avocado or mango, so I served the chicken over some spinach, using the sauce for a "wilted" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnjo13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This stuff is amazing. I made two changes, I grilled it after frying instead of baking and instead of butter in the reduction I added a splash of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States