Spicy Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe..I love the slight hint of jalapeno. I made one minor change to the recipe, added some cilantro and it added a little bit more flavor and color to the soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Mr. LTH really enjoyed this soup. I, too, enjoyed the flavor, but the texture was a bit off. There were strings and strings of asparagus that were less than appetizing. At the last minute, I realized I had light cream, not heavy, so I used that instead. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. This is definately worth giving a try (the jalaps provide a nice kick!). THANKS for the recipe, Scott M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe and so easy to prepare. Made the following changes: EVOO instead of butter. Added 2 cloves Garlic. Habanero instead of Jalapeno.. Ole'! Lowfat milk and cornstarch instead of heavy cream. Added asparagus tip in the end instead of pureeing them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this before but somehow the recipe changed. No jalapeno or hot stuff added, just sautéed garlic with the onions and used an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
LOVED IT! Tweaked it just a bit though, adding 1 large jalapeño, sautéed with onion; added a little more potato so I could cut down on the cream, which I also cut by using half NF milk and half cream; skipped tobasco; added veggie seasoning to enhance flavor. Also, used a stick blender and creamed it all up right in the pot. Served with Asiago ciabatta croutons - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by igottalatte

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe! I am the only one in the house so I cut in half and used half and half instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I fixed this soup for a family at church, doubled the recipe and didn't use the jalapino pepper because I wasn't sure if they really liked spicy food. I wish I had tripled it and the next time I will add the pepper but even without it, it was wonderful and I cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added two cloves of garlic with the onion and skipped the dairy. Served with fresh sourdough bread. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kindling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great soup! Even my picky eaters loved it. I added a couple extra steps because I just can't bring myself to follow any recipe to the letter. First of all, strain the asparagus after blended. I use a French sieve, or chinois, to extract all the pulp. Then, I boiled the diced potatoes separately and added them after blending. Also added a cup of diced cooked chicken breast and made a meal of it. I doubled the portions so I would have a few servings left for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! Wasn't stringy at all, just need to blend it down really well. Added some garlic because I love it, but even with out it I'm sure it would taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States